Another Snow Day

So it turns out that last week’s snow was not destined to be our only snow of the year. Yesterday we woke up to this.

IMG_5895

IMG_5919

IMG_5934

IMG_5905

IMG_5925

IMG_5929

In a few days we’ll have temperatures in the high 50’s again, so this won’t be here long.

And now the question becomes, what kind of March does nature have in store for us this year?

21 comments on “Another Snow Day

  1. BeeHappee says:

    Wow!!!! Beautiful! Is this unusual for you guys?

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Love the contrast of that bright red shed against the snow–so beautiful!

    Like

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    A winter wonderland 😉

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    That third photo is my favorite, but the last one made me laugh.

    Like

  5. Bill, after all the snow up north of you, it finally came for a visit, huh. In my humble gardener opinion, snow is the best moisture on the planet. It’s nitrogen richer than any other form of moisture. In your case with the ground not being frozen like here in Nebraska, when it melts, it will soak into the ground without much run off. It’s great for the soil to ready itself for Spring planting. Consider yourself blessed my friend.

    Here in Nebraska we woke up to no temperature. Nada, zip, zero. Yes, it was zero degrees. The sun is shining brightly and it looks like a warm day outside but contrar, it isn’t. High for today will top out at 18 degrees. Puffs of breath bellow from mouth and nose with steamy trails following moving cars as folks travel off to work. My steam comes from the coffee cup in hand watching the puffing breath and trails of steam go out of sight through the living room window. Ah, I love retirement. 🙂

    Have a great snowy Virginia day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re right about the snow. It’s much better for the soil than a heavy rain, most of which will run off. All that moisture will pay dividends later this year.

      Glad you’re enjoying your retirement Dave. 🙂

      Like

  6. barnraised says:

    Gorgeous pictures. What a wonderland!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was MUCH prettier than these pictures reveal. I was disappointed when I saw them. I wouldn’t want to have to see this every day but no doubt it made things beautiful around here.

      Like

  7. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    You’re not the only one wondering about March, I can tell ya!
    Now that’s Christmas card scenery – LOVE the one of the old settlement houses! Wonderful shots Bill!! (A great day for doing black and white photography too: )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Love the b&w idea. I had to check my phone to see if my camera can do that. With a little fidgeting around I figured it out. Next time…

      Those are actually old tobacco curing barns. Hand hewn logs, chinked with mud and rocks, they’re probably a hundred years old or more. Maybe I’ll do a post about them someday.

      Like

  8. avwalters says:

    Looks like home. Though I love the seasons, I have a lot on my plate and, this year, I can hardly wait for the warmer temperatures. Honestly, I don’t get much done in the single digits. This weekend, for the first time in a bit, we’ll start getting some consistent daytime temps in the 20s. (I’m a little tired of all the sub-zero and negative wind chill readings.)

    Lions, lambs, March, we are ready for you!

    Like

  9. pattisj says:

    It looks much prettier in your photos than it does here!

    Like

  10. Pretty photos – I’m hoping for a warm, sunny March!

    Like

Leave a Reply

