Progress

If you are on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road.

C.S. Lewis

14 comments on “Progress

  1. shoreacres says:

    Oh, isn’t that just the truth!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like the image. It’s not “progress” to continue down the road, if it’s the wrong road. In that case progress means turning around and heading it what would otherwise seem to be the “wrong” direction.

      Like

  2. Done that a time or two … said never again, again. Lately, I’m feeling pretty certain my path is a good one and shall remain so, one of the nice advantages of maturing, at last.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s how I feel too Teresa. There were times in my life when I was fairly confident I was on the wrong road, but “progress” meant continuing even farther down it. Fortunately (even though it took a long time) I did finally turn around. I like the road I’m on now and it feels right to me, but if time reveals that its the wrong road, I hope I’ll have the courage and wisdom to turn around and go “backward” for a while.

      Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    the path we make walking

    Like

  4. Bill, I’ve always contended that one of the biggest things in life is knowing when you are on the wrong road and knowing that a change is needed to get back on the right road. I’m not sure who said it but the quote goes some like this, “If you keep doing the same thing, the result will always be the same.” Until the epiphany moment happens in life, things might get a little rough. I am one that will ride that horse until he drops dead and still keep trying to make it go. Once I make a decision and start to travel down a road, the blinders are on until I drop off the cliff. Some times that can be a good thing but normally not so much. I have mellowed as I matured in age but during my younger years defeat and admitting that I’d made a wrong decision was just not so much an option until I reached the end of the road. Thank goodness I’m a lot better now but it’s still difficult to give up on some thing that’s just not going to work.

    Have a great right road day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I have that tendency too. It’s hard for me to admit that I took the wrong road.

      We had a beagle who would go with us on walks. But he flat refused to turn around. When we turned around to head back home, he just wouldn’t do it. We learned, however, that if instead of turning around and walking back, we made a wide arcing turn, he didn’t realize we were turning around and he would come happily along. He wasn’t the smartest dog in the world. But maybe there’s a lesson there. If we can’t bring ourselves to turn around abruptly, maybe we should turn more gradually.

      Like

  5. Joanna says:

    Wise words indeed

    Like

  6. avwalters says:

    The problem is finding a reliable map.

    Like

  7. EllaDee says:

    I’ve vowed to never go back but many times I have taken the scenic route to get on the right road again…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Your comment reminds me again of our beagle Jack (mentioned in response to Dave). He was OK with going back, as long as we turned around gradually. That seems OK to me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

