Noticing Things

Sometimes we can see things so many times that we just stop noticing them, no matter how striking or beautiful they were when we first saw them.  That happens to me at least.  Back when I worked in an office visitors would comment on what a beautiful view I had.  But I’d long ago stopped noticing. The same thing happens here sometimes (but I’m trying harder to resist it here).

Or it can small things that we’ve seen so many times we no longer really notice them.

Take my closet for example.

IMG_5677

I’m sure your eyes were drawn immediately to a strange-looking thing, which seems weird and out of place in a man’s closet.

Here’s a closer look at it.

IMG_5369

My daughter made it for me in pre-school about 20 years ago.  It’s a coin bank and I’ve been emptying my pockets into it for a couple of decades.  It has an outline of her hand on it and is precious to me.

But these days I can go years without really stopping to contemplate it. Happens all the time, with all sorts of things.

Oh, and there are a couple of other unusual things in my closet too.

IMG_5377

I found these on the farm years ago near one of the old houses, separately, at different times and places.  It seemed a shame to throw them away, so I put them in my closet.

I thought they were interesting.  Still do.  But I’ve seen them there for so long I don’t really pay any attention to them any more.

The closet opens into our bathroom.  Recently Cherie told me that we had a plumber over once doing some work in the bathroom.  She said he kept glancing nervously over into my closet and she reckoned it was because of the head.

But I can understand that.  I’m sure it must have looked bizarre then, because that was before I got rid of the spider webs that were in the eye sockets.

28 comments on “Noticing Things

  1. Ru says:

    omg, that head is freaky! why Bill why?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      After I found it I brought it home to show Cherie. I sat in on the shelf in the closet (because at the time it didn’t seem right to just throw it away) and then forgot about it. I don’t even notice it any more. But yeah, it’s pretty freaky looking. I’ll bet it once brought a child a lot of joy. Nevertheless, it probably needs to find a new home now. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. dwerner1146 says:

    Bill–keep the closet door closed, for goodness’ sake!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Coming out of the closet, Bill?
    Made me smile. Cute. Yes, the head is creepy indeed, I feel sorry for that poor plumber.
    Talking about closets. Few days ago I was telling my coworker how amazed I was with his e-mail organization skills, he had zero in his inbox, and all the stuff was organized into folders. While I have zero folders, and all the stuff is in the inbox like one big pot of soup, that is the only way I can find anything. So then he sends me the picture of his closet and his spice cabinet. Closet is organized by type and color, and spices are organized by alphabet, like in the supermarket. . . It would have never even occurred to me to do that kind of stuff. So yes, if you want to know the person, check out their closets. And spice cabinets. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like being organized too, although I’m not a master at it the way my wife is. In my closet, for example, I have my work shirts hanging on the top–3 or 4 long-sleeved ones and 3 or 4 short-sleeved ones (separated by a camo shirt for turkey hunting that I’ve only worn about twice). On the bottom are my “business casual” shirts that I used to wear frequently and now I only wear one about once a month. Probably time to do some editing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bill, well, I’m not sure I would bring it home and put in my closet but I find some pretty bizarre things on my Terra Nova Gardens property. I would look at them with amazement and wonder at how it got there; who had originally bought it; why had they throw it away on such a piece of property? I started a pile three years ago when cleaning up the property but finally just packed it up and threw it all away. The history of things found are sometimes a mystery, aren’t they. After living where I’ve lived for 30 years, I still find little things in the yard that bring back memories. A small box car, or a plastic nerf gun left in the corner of the yard, or little super hero plastic figures found under the foundation bushes, are all remnants from child raising on this property. It’s amazing just how long a little stick figure can remain buried only to suddenly be dug up while weeding a flower bed. A flood of memories can be unearthed in a small urban yard. However, I don’t think any of them made it to my closet. 🙂

    Have a great creepy head in the closet day. Probably makes the plumber work a little faster, don’t you think?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I need to get better about throwing away things I find. You can’t really see them in the picture, but on the next shelf down I have about 20 marbles that I’ve found in gardens. Most of them I recognize from my childhood. Those definitely brought back memories.

      The doll head was from another part of the farm near a house. I wish I knew the story behind it.

      Like

  5. Sue says:

    The head is a bit much—sort of a deranged psycho killer thing—IF you don’t know the story behind it. I guess maybe you should move it??

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I love both of those dolls heads. They don’t seem creepy at all. But of course, I grew up knowing a woman who did doll restoration, so I see what could be along with what is. I’ll tell you this — what you have there could be worth a good bit of money. Before you move it along, if you do, be SURE and find out what you have. It might not be worth ten dollars, but I’ve seen antique doll’s heads go for hundreds. This one doesn’t seem fine enough for that, but you never know.

    I wish I still had my collection of glass eyes. I’d send a pair along, so you could do something about that vacant stare.

    Like

    • shoreacres says:

      If it’s bisque, you do have something good.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Interesting. Thanks for the comment Linda. It never occurred to me that they might have value, not just the money it might bring the seller, but the pleasure it might bring the buyer.

      I just had a sense when I found them that they shouldn’t be casually thrown away. And I’ve seen them sitting there for so long that I just quit noticing how bizarre they would like to someone unused to them.

      Like

  7. Joanna says:

    Definitely freaky, but I’m glad it isn’t just me who collects odd objects. Mind you, my excuse is using them in craft projects in some dim and distant future, not quite sure what your excuse is 😀

    Like

  8. rhondajean says:

    I like you. I know that because you chose such random things to keep. I adore your daughter’s handprint. Does she know you still have that money box and use it every day? And the heads! I love them. They’re truly gruesome and beautiful at the same time and a stark reminder of times gone by when little girls would have played with those dolls. High five, Bill! Oh, and happy anniversary to you and your dear wife. xx

    Like

  9. With the concussion the kid had, no wonder his eyes are vacant, Bill. –Curt

    Like

  10. pattisj says:

    Lots of treasures. Funny about the cobwebs!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When my son saw the head just after I brought it home, it was the cobwebs in the eyes that he said made it so creepy. I thought they lent some character to the piece, so I left them alone. Not sure what caused them to go away.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. EllaDee says:

    Too funny 🙂 Keep the heads… in your closet… or move them to the living room coffee table!
    Earlier this year after putting it off for far too long we had the house sprayed for spiders -I love spiders but the animals were taking over the zoo- anyway the crazy pest guy came out of the kitchen and said to me I love what’s written on your blackboard. I was puzzled. From memory what was written was stuff like ‘clean oven, turn off pump, lock windows, etc…’ I’d forgotten I’d written in small letters at the top something I though no-one would read ‘Our main priority is R&R. If you see something you think needs attention, please feel free to do it yourself”…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      LOL. When we moved to this house our kids packed and labeled the boxes with their things. Our daughter labelled one of her boxes “Random Monkey Stuff.” The movers weren’t sure what to make of that.

      If the heads are ever on our living room coffee table, that will be evidence that Cherie is either away on a long trip, or she has moved out.

      Like

  12. Yeah, removing the cobwebs must have made all the difference. 😉 Quirky is good. Love this post.

    Like

  13. MansWhirld says:

    I’d have to day that creepy doll head was the first thing that caught my eye. I also have a little can with artwork my daughter made for me years and years ago. I keep it on my workbench and use it for a variety of things to this day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

