The Old Me

thomas-eakins-portrait-of-charles-l.-fussell

This is probably what I’ll look like when I’m an old man.

Except I won’t be bald.

And I won’t have a beard.

Actually, now that I think about it, I probably won’t look anything like this.

Never mind.

30 comments on “The Old Me

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    So, if I understand you correctly, you’re saying that you won’t look old, when you get old? Or just that you don’t think that you will look like a wise and ag-ed man, when you get old?
    (And you said that you don’t have a sense of humour… ; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I already look old. But I think I’m destined to be a hairy-headed clean-shaven old man. Reading a book.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Well, from what I’ve seen, that only makes sense really… Have you noticed, more often than not, that those who have hair on (the top of) their head, don’t seem to “need” facial hair as much?; )

        Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    too funny. You know my mom has been waiting since her 30s to go gray, because she thinks gray hair is beautiful, and she has black hair, and it is not turning gray whatsoever at age 65, so she is very mad. And others try to cover up any sign of gray.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Bill says:

      I agree that gray hair is beautiful and I prefer the natural look. I think more and more people are choosing to go natural these days. Cherie doesn’t color her hair. Neither do I, and I’m graying too, but more slowly.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the thing to worry about is getting to be an old man?

    Like

  4. Laurie Graves says:

    But you will be reading, I bet πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      My first thought when I saw the painting was “That’s what I’ll look like someday.” But as I thought about it I realized that it was the book that made me think that. When I’m an old man, I’ll likely spend a lot of my time reading books. As I have since I was a boy. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. ain't for city gals says:

    Laurie said what I was going to…you will have a book in your hands…as will I.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yeah, my Dad once told me to never get old. It was in one of his desperation moments during the year of Chemo Therapy before he died. He was my hero and wisest person I knew. His life ended at 87 here on this earth but much of his wisdom lives on through me. Anyway, in my opinion, old is a state of mind and not the body. It’s true as we get older our bodies just can’t quite keep up with our still young mind, but that’s no reason to sit down in the recliner with a snack bowl and wait for death. My philosophy is that old is 20 years older than my age so I’ll never get there. As the eighth decade of life grows closer and closer to me, I can indeed feel the strength of my youth slowly draining away. That’s where the wisdom of life comes in. I may not be able to muscle things around like I used to do but I can figure out ways to still get the tasks done. Working wiser instead of stronger isn’t all that more difficult. So yeah, I kind of already look like the picture in your post. The beard is a little shorter and not so much a book in the lap. My media of choice is YouTube videos of master gardeners. I have to say that I am a blessed man because my journey from birth to now has been filled with experiences that have shaped me into what I am today. I can truthfully say that if a person wants to stay young two things have to happen. One, use it or loose it. And the other is never stagnate in learning. Always be exercising the mind and learning new things each day on this earth.

    Have a great maturing in wisdom day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If I have a beard when I’m an old man, it will mean that Cherie predeceased me. πŸ™‚

      I remember when my Grandfather was the age I am now. I thought he was ancient. Yet I do not think of myself as an old man. Like you, I probably never will. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • nebraskadave says:

        My beard predates my older children who are now in their middle 40s. My beard was part of my look long before the hair loss on my head. It was actually a red beard before it turn totally gray. Hair loss and changing hair color was never a problem with me.

        Like

  7. Well, the book part will be true, probably πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. valbjerke says:

    Haha! My kids always used to tell their friends – don’t mind mom, she’s workin’ on being a crazy old lady with a mean dog and a 12 gauge side by side living in a cabin in the mountains.
    No cabin in the mountains……yet. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  9. EllaDee says:

    Books, I think are the balm of old age… any age actually. But I’m looking forward to this being me too… similarly not bald or bearded… one would hope!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. rhondajean says:

    HA! you certainly sound like the old man I know. I might join you and grow a beard. I already have the grey hair but I think a beard would add that certain touch of distinction. What do you think?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t know Rhonda, I think grey hair on a woman can make her look classy and dignified (and self-confident). But a grey beard? I have trouble believing it would be becoming. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. shoreacres says:

    I didn’t realize how gray I’ve become until I saw a couple of photos of myself from this past weekend. And I thought it was just those fluorescent lights that were making my hair look like that! Of course, I’m also getting unsolicited sales calls from people who seem to think I need a walker or one of those electric chairs, so I guess I’ve moved into a demographic where gray hair’s to be expected!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My eyebrows are gray and if I allowed my beard to grow, it would be gray. Otherwise just a few streaks. But I’m all in favor of folks looking their age and I appreciate those who don’t try to deny nature. I think Emmylou Harris, to cite a well-known example, is beautiful–long gray/silver hair and all.

      Like

  12. Me neither Bill. Any time I ever tried to grow a beard it looked more like something Ho Chi Minh grew… sparse and stringy. I wouldn’t mind looking like the guy in your photo, however. Fun blog. πŸ™‚ –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My Daddy was like that. He had very little beard. Couldn’t have grown one if he wanted to. I, on the other hand, have a full beard that grows quickly, yet I’ve never had a beard or mustache in my life. I went for a while without shaving during exams my first year of college, but my neck itched so badly that I gave it up and shaved. That was my only effort.

      Nowadays I only shave when I need to. Today I shaved for the first time in several days (had to go to a meeting). I had the beginnings of a scruffy gray beard.

      Whenever I’ve suggested growing a beard, Cherie vetoes it. She prefers me clean-shaven. I’m happy to oblige.

      Like

Leave a Reply

