Happy Birthday

Galileo

Today is the 450th anniversary of the birth of Galileo Galilei, as brilliant a man as ever lived.

This would never have happened to Galileo.

Stuck

Stuck

38 comments on “Happy Birthday

  1. DM says:

    If you pick it up on this end, it will come loose 😉 (I do feel your pain, having done similar things) DM

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Argh, I have so been there done that. I hope that you have another saw or can borrow a neighbor’s saw to get it un stuck. Those leaners are the most dangerous to work on. Nice saw. I have the sister to that one. I bought about five years ago when I would go on short term mission trips within the borders of the states after hurricane disasters. Stihl is an awesome saw. While others were over on the side trying to get their saws started or keep them running, I was sawing up fallen trees. What a work horse Stihl is. They just work and keep on working all week long. I’m sure there are other saws that are just as good but I love my Stihl.

    Have a great saw recovery day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I have another saw, but in this case I used to tractor to free it.

      I use the chainsaw more than any other tool or piece of equipment on the farm. In the winter I cut wood nearly every day. It’s essential to have a good dependable saw.

      Like

  3. Jeff says:

    I have a Husqvarna and I think it is every bit as good as a Stihl, but this happens to everyone. Like Dave says, I hope you have another saw. You did make an undercut, didn’t you? And again, like Dave said, be very careful with leaners -they’re dangerous!! That little tree under the one you have the saw stuck in doesn’t help matters – it should have been removed first. Is that a dogwood that the leaner (la hickory?) is next to? The one with the very finely textured bark?

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    I’m a little jealous of your Stihl. We have a Husqvarna and two little McColloughs–but Stihl has its own aura. I’m also a nut about chainsaw protocol, having seen the results when a saw binds and bucks back up at the user. Decades ago, my brother-in-law barely made it to the hospital, and came out with 140 stitches to his neck. Those leaners are real trouble. They don’t call them widow-makers for nothing. Right now, because of the ash borers, we have a forest full of them. Sometimes We’ve conscripted the jack from the truck for part of the task, between that, using a come-along and wedge cuts, so far we’ve been able to keep the saw free.
    My cousin, working alone in the woods, had one of those leaners fall on him and crush him. He had to crawl his way out of the woods. It took hours. It wouldn’t have taken so long, except he insisted on dragging his chainsaw out with him. You don’t leave a good tool like that behind.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I was making a wedge cut but took it too deep. I definitely should have taken out the tree it’s laying on first, but I thought I could do this without having to cut it down (I know, I know).

      I don’t usually mess with situations like this. I have plenty of wood without it. But in this case…

      The stories of your cousin and brother in law are scary. A man in our community was killed last week when a tree he was cutting fell on him. I try to be very careful (despite the photographic evidence to the contrary).

      Liked by 1 person

  5. valbjerke says:

    Yep – widow maker.
    Careful – is the word of the day.
    No need to say more – I see everybody is already giving you a hard time 😊

    Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Happy birthday GG!!
    Nice advertisement!: )
    You got a jack handy?; )
    *Btw, didn’t cheat, just shot from the hip, with the humorous response* … But, now that that’s over, I’m right up there with Jeff on clearing out what you (or the saw) could get snagged on, or trip over. As Grandma always said, “An ounce of prevention…”
    P.S. You are UNstuck by now, I hope?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Unstuck now. Needed a little help from the tractor. 🙂

      Definitely dumb of me not to clear that out first. I have an excuse, but it’s dumb too. 🙂

      Like

  7. Don’t own a chainsaw, so no advice from this corner. Thanks for the reminder about Galileo’s birthday – appropriately enough, hubby’s reading a book right now called “Galileo’s Dream” – a sci-fi novel by Kim Stanley Robinson.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I just finished Galileo’s Daughter by Dava Sobel. Fascinating book. That’s how I knew today is his birthday.

      When this happened I thought of the Beginning Farmer’s “Hard Lesson Learned.”

      Liked by 1 person

  8. EllaDee says:

    I have no advice, these things are outside my jurisdiction but I’m not sure even Galileo would be above such eventualities, it happens!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m sorry to say that this has happened to me enough times for me to learn how to handle it. As my son said, “It seems doable, until it isn’t.”

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Remember, when and if that little voice pipes up – y’know, the one that’s always parked in the back of your head – then, for Pete’s sake listen (trust me, I have been there; )

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Joanna says:

    And things were going so well too. Hubby also said undercut, I wouldn’t have a clue

    Like

  10. bobraxton says:

    in the Stihl of the night

    Like

  11. …and the tree bites back!

    Like

  12. Woody says:

    I’m so happy that my wife doesn’t video any of my activities around here. One cool little trick a friend of mine employs before he works a lean or hung limb is a brace log wedged above his first cut. Works great if you remember to do it and cut below it. Brain farts are common here.

    Like

  13. Ru says:

    true, but probably only because chainsaws hadn’t been invented then. 🙂

    Like

  14. Been there, done that…
    And glad it didn’t put you in the running for a Darwin!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I was cutting wood today I was extra careful. If I’d made some fatal mistake today, just a day after a post joking about my chainsaw goof-up, I think I would’ve been a shoo-in for the award.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. When I bought this property, there was a chainsaw stuck in a large tree. the years have taken it deeper into irretrievability. It’s not going anywhere, but I trust yours didn’t become another whole type of chainsaw sculpture.

    Like

  16. This may be the year for a chainsaw, I was thinking Bill. Now, not so much. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  17. tac says:

    Hah! That sure has happened to me, though…

    Like

Leave a Reply

