Trailers, part two

Speaking of trailers, two trailers were released last week for upcoming projects with connections to our farm.

Here’s the trailer for the upcoming documentary about the making of the Collection’s beautiful album Ars Moriendi. It includes scenes from our farm.

And here’s the trailer for John Thompson’s book Jesus, Bread and Chocolate, which will be coming out in April. Our farm is featured in a chapter of the book.

We’ve never been part of a trailer to the best of my knowledge, and now we’re part of two, both released the same week.

Cool.

19 comments on “Trailers, part two

  1. bobraxton says:

    Thompson (English) – my maternal line.

    Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    Very cool, and beautiful!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I was surprised to see the scenes from our place in the Collection’s documentary trailer. Now I’m especially excited to see the film. They spent a week here finishing up songs before they went into the studio to record.

      I was a bit disappointed the book trailer didn’t reference the chapter on local food, but it makes sense that they were highlighting coffee and chocolate since those are mentioned in the title. There is a chapter about craft beers and one about furniture-making too. Good book.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna says:

    Impressive. Shaping up to be quite a year for you already 🙂

    Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yeah, I saw what you did there with that segue into media from physical trailers. Very smooth, I must admit. It’s great that your exposure is expanding in many different areas. Your message about food is being sent out through the influence of your little homestead farm. It must give you great satisfaction to see the increase of the effect your farm is having in the different areas of culture.

    Keep up the good work and have a great trailer day.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bill says:

      It’s good to see the message spread, but I wouldn’t say we’re having any great cultural influence. But cumulatively I think we’re all spreading the word throughout culture pretty effectively these days, whether by second-career homesteaders in Virginia or urban gardeners in Nebraska. It all adds up.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Geez, White Flint’s a STAR; )

    Like

  6. EllaDee says:

    Clever… very smooth, shows you’re not just a pretty face 😉 But seriously, I know it’s been a journey for your and Cherie, it must be satisfying to see your efforts making a difference and feeding not only yourselves but other people and collaboration, as well as getting the message out there.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like what John is doing with his book–considering what the vibrant ongoing artisinal movements might be saying about spirituality and what lessons might be learned from them. He’s more broadly approaching the same kind of subject I’m trying to address in mine. His book has a chance of gaining a wide audience. I’ll be interested to see what happens.

      I’m a big fan of The Collection and their music. The album is already out and it is beautiful. If our farm shows up in the documentary it will just be as scenery. We had nothing do to with the music other than giving them an out of the way place to be creative.

      Interestingly, when they arrived they said they wanted to get all their food for the week from the farm. That was the summer the blight wiped out our tomatoes, deer ate the okra, the eggplant failed, deer ruined the peppers, etc. It was the heart of summer and we had practically nothing left after we met our CSA obligations. Worst summer production we’ve ever had. They had to settle for watermelons and eggs (if I recall correctly) and getting the rest of their food from town. I don’t expect that to make the film. 🙂

      Like

  7. avwalters says:

    I agree, great segue.

    Like

  8. Way cool, the circles you move in…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks but I’m chuckling because we don’t run in any circles. We met the band at the Wild Goose festival, found out they needed a place to rehearse for a week because their other place fell through, and offered our old house. John Thompson was on the Food Justice panel with us at Wild Goose. Then The Collection made an album and John wrote a book and we ended up mentioned in both.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Frankly I seem to run in circles far too often…but seriously, it seems to me that Wild Goose is one of your circles. Still cool. And it’s awesome how life brings connections and relationships together like that. Happens to me occasionally too, and I’m always awed by it.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Very cool indeed! I’m inspired to check out the Collection’s music (never heard of them but then I’m not really up to date on anything cultural these days) and although I don’t consider myself religious, I think I’ll be adding Thompson’s book to my reading list. It might be just what I need to perk up my spiritual self – or at least tide me over until your book is published!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Here’s a link to the video of my favorite song on the record. Great people and great music!
      http://www.npr.org/event/music/310783241/the-collection-the-gown-of-green

      John’s book is a good read. It’s part memoir and he’s had a very interesting life. He has chapters on various expressions of the artisinal movements–craft brewing, bread-making, artisinal chocolates, music and local-food. He ties them all into a call for spiritual/religious reflections of these movements, but I think the book will be interesting to folks whether they are religious or not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

