Deer Goats

A deer has taken up with one of our goat herds.

IMG_5529

See her?

She stays with them at their shed during the night, and forages with them during the day.

The deer gets nervous and runs away when I come around, so I haven’t been able to get a good picture of her at the shed.

IMG_5489

At dawn. The deer is to the left of the shed.

But  few days ago she was grazing with the goats and I was able to sneak up without being seen.

IMG_5447

Hey, where's everybody going?

Hey, where’s everybody going?

IMG_5469

IMG_5472

A couple of our neighbors have mentioned seeing her.  In the words of one, “That deer thinks she’s a goat.” It’s a curiosity.

My guess is that the deer was orphaned during hunting season and for some reason just fell in with the goats.

Or maybe she really does think she’s a goat.

24 comments on “Deer Goats

  1. BeeHappee says:

    Oh that is sweet! Too lonely int he woods there. How many goats and kids do you have? And what do you do with all of them?

    Like

  2. For whatever reason,it’s beautiful. It’s so good she doesn’t have to feel alone. I just love this.

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yeah, it’s cute now but not so much when gardening time rolls around. A deer will always be a deer even if they think their a goat. I’m not trying to be negative here but deer can be very destructive in a garden. I’ve only seen one deer at Terra Nova Gardens but considering the property is surrounded by inner city, it did surprise me a little. It was not afraid of me working in the garden and grazed on the grass there for about five minutes before slowly wandered back into the wooded area. I suspect part of the sweet corn destruction is from nightly visits from the deer and raccoon population.

    Have a great deer watching day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I certainly understand the threat deer pose to gardens. We deal with it every day of every year and it has cost us thousands of dollars.

      We have dozens of deer living on this farm. If this one wants to stay in the pasture with the goats that’s fine by me. I wish they’d all do that.

      Like

  4. avwalters says:

    Hey, even she can see that it’s a sweet gig. I would, too, if I were her.

    Like

  5. farmerkhaiti says:

    How lovely! I’ve been seeing a story recently about a sheep who thought she was a dog, so I guess this can happen!! Wonder if she’ll have her fawn with the goats too?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well I just hope she doesn’t fall in love with our buck Abraham. I’m not sure what a union like that would produce. 🙂

      When I was a boy we had a rooster who thought he was a dog. He slept laying down on the ground, walked with us (and the dogs) to the school bus and came to meet us when we got off it. Poor thing never had any tail feathers, being a rooster who liked to play with dogs.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. shoreacres says:

    It’s always good to make new friends. It reminds me of a local curiosity — a black swan that’s sighted from time to time. No one knows where it came from, but it’s been around for at least three years. Sometimes it pops up in a marina I work in, but it’s been seen on the other side of the bay. Outliers, animal-kingdom version.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      And now I’m reminded of the Ugly Duckling story. 🙂 I’ve seen stories about all kinds of strange adoptions in the animal kingdom. And white deer show up around her once in a while. I didn’t even know black swans could exist. I’ve heard that term used as a metaphor of course. I like knowing there are animal kingdom outliers like that.

      Like

  7. bobraxton says:

    looks like a goat to me – sort of

    Like

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    I’m with you on this one, Bill. Can’t really tell on the phone screen; but to me, she looks pretty angular…
    Being with your herd is better than being alone; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There are plenty of deer here, so she shouldn’t have any trouble finding some to hang out with it she wants to. For now I think she seems to prefer the company of the goats.

      I saw a doe and fawn in that pasture in the early fall. My guess is that this is the now-grown fawn and that her mother was killed during hunting season. Of course I don’t have any way to know that for sure.

      Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    Word is out that White Flint Farm is 5 star!

    Like

  10. Rachel says:

    Awwwww!!! She found a community!

    Like

  11. Deer eat everything; goats eat everything. Match made in Heaven. Happy Valentines Day. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

Leave a Reply

