5 Things

On her excellent blog Handmade Homegrown Beautiful Life Cynthia invited me to say five interesting things about myself.

I’ve been thinking about that a while.  There aren’t many interesting things to say, and I already used up some the best ones when Laura at Applewood Farm put a similar question to me a while back.

So while I wouldn’t rank these as the top five most-interesting things in my life, here’s a stab at it:

1. My first off-farm job was wearing the paper hat at a fast-food restaurant called Biscuitville. Although I did every job that gets done at places like that, my greatest accomplishment was becoming a certified biscuit-maker.  Yep, this kid was going places.

2. In college I majored in Foreign Affairs, with a Middle East concentration.  I have had little occasion to draw upon the things I learned in those classes. In fact, I’ve gotten a lot more use out of the typing class I took in high school (notwithstanding the damage it did to my grade point average).

3. My son is six inches taller than me, has thick red hair, a beard and a pony tail that hangs half-way down his back.  Yet some people say we look alike.

4. In the last week I left a gate open allowing the horse to escape, and I nearly burned down the farm.  The consequences of the many other mistakes I likely made around here are not yet known. (We got the horse back in the fence and the fire was extinguished before it did any damage.  Other than the fact that they are both evidence of my general incompetence, the events were unrelated. Oh yeah, I also knocked over and broke a wine glass. While not as dramatic as setting the farm on fire, I suppose that’s more evidence.)

5. I was one of a handful of Americans who didn’t watch the Super Bowl. In fact, I haven’t watched a Super Bowl since the one Tampa Bay won in 2002. I could probably get deported for admitting that.  But I should add that if I do ever watch another Super Bowl, I’ll watch the game and ignore the commercials. Because I’m crazy like that.

Thanks Cynthia.  🙂

28 comments on “5 Things

  1. Sue says:

    Hubby and I don’t watch the Super Bowl either. As a matter of fact, one of the neighbors chatting on the road mentioned it last week—we didn’t even know it was coming up! We are in the backwoods………………………..and I’m glad!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      The backwoods is a good place to be. 🙂

      We don’t have TV here, so we couldn’t have watched it even if we had wanted to. Not watching a particular football game wouldn’t seem a big deal, but the Super Bowl has taken on a life of its own. I’ve had some people tell me they watch it just to see the commercials.

      Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    These are great, Bill. Made my day. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jeff says:

    Here’s another one who didn’t watch the Super Bowl (I don’t have a TV — or a cellphone), though I did hear that it was a game worth watching, for a change. I’m not in the “backwoods”, but I ignore so much of what passes for contemporary “civilization” that I might as well be. Thoreau is my hero.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Interesting that the Super Bowl comment generated the most response. Of course it makes perfect sense that readers of this blog would include a lot of people who don’t care about things the Super Bowl.

      Thoreau would not watch the Super Bowl.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    No Superbowl for me, either. I didn’t know who’d won until the next morning. Late, the next morning. What can I say? I was busy.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      But it seems so unamerican of you/me/us.

      Folks like us will have nothing to contribute to discussions of the burning issues of the day, like the merits of the latest commercials or the costume of the half-time performer.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Actually, I used to watch the superbowl every year. I’d even go to a party now and then. But that was back in the day, when it was more about football. I grew up watching the Packers with my dad, in the 50’s. Vince Lombardi, and all that. It was fun. Now? It’s just another over-produced, media saturated, over-hyped excuse to sell us stuff.

        I can make a bowl of guacamole and read a book just as well. 🙂

        Like

      • Bill says:

        We were AFL fans when I was growing up. I remember being thrilled when the Jets beat the Colts. Joe Namath was one of my heroes. Back when I loved pro football the most, they were the Boston Patriots, and there were no Seattle Seahawks.

        Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, let me see if I can come up with some interesting facts about my life.

    1. I lived near a Midwest reservation of an Omaha native American Indian tribe until I was 8 years old. I was probably one of the white minorities in the school I attended until 3rd grade. The sound of the yearly festival drums put me to sleep at night during the week long fall festival once a year in the fall. My best friend was a full blooded Omaha Native American Indian.

    2. During my early years of life the outhouse was the mode for personal waste elimination. When the pit under the house filled to nearly full. Another pit was dug, that dirt was used to cover the old pit, and the outhouse was moved over the new pit. After the new pit was dug and old pit was covered, my Dad and his helper decided to take a break and went to the house to rest up a bit. I being the adventurer that I was jumped down in the freshly dug pit to check it out. At about six years old a six foot pit was a major problem to climb back out. I never, even today, think far enough ahead to foresee such things. I get caught up in the moment and forget about what comes next. Anyway Dad was used to my panic yells and came running to see what in the world I had gotten myself into this time. When he saw me down in the pit, he started laughing and acting like he and his helper was going to set the house up over the pit with me in it. I really didn’t see the humor it but he sure thought it was funny.

    3. Back in my teen years my Dad and I started a project call Hercules. Dad was a truck mechanic and had access to derelict truck parts. We decided to build a monster tractor. The frame was an International straight truck frame with the original front end steering and cab. The engine of choice was a 60 HP ford flathead engine. Behind that engine a four speed Ford truck transmission was bolted up to the engine. Fabricated mounts for the five speed International transmission were made to couple it behind the four speed transmission. The rear axle was from the International truck and had a two speed option on the axle. All together there were about 62 different speed choices. The slowest speed was reverse in both transmissions which made Hercules move forward. We had a lot of fun playing with Hercules.

    4. I always managed to amaze my Dad at the situations that I could get myself into. Once I was doing field work on a dry sunny day with a tractor and a disk, I think. We had terraces that ran through our fields which were quite steep and difficult to go straight over. In my infinite wisdom and again not thinking ahead, I decided to take a short cut up over the terrace. Everything was find until the tractor went down into the shallow valley on the top side of the terrace which planted the draw bar of the tractor on the high part of the terrace completely high centering the tractor. Yeah, try to explain to your Dad how you got a tractor stuck on top of a hill on a perfectly dry sunny day.

    5. I have a good friend that I have gone on short mission trips with to Nicaragua to do building painting and other small projects. The crown jewel was when this friend found a van that would be perfect for the church in Nicaragua to use. He decided we should drive the van from Nebraska to Nicaragua. Friends and family thought they would never see me again when we actually left on the journey. We met the pastor from the Nicaraguan church at the Mexican border and he traveled with us on our seven day journey through Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, and into Nicaragua. We flew back from Costa Rico. It was once in a life time trip for sure.

    Have a great exciting life experience day.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bill says:

      Wow Dave. Your five are certainly a lot more interesting that mine. 🙂

      Those are great stories. Thanks for sharing. You could turn any of them into a interesting short story. Or put them together and write a novel.

      Liked by 1 person

      • nebraskadave says:

        I forgot to say no Super Bowl here either. Well, I can’t say that. I turned on the Super Bowl for the last 18 seconds of the game which was just and snap of the ball and a knew down to end the game. I’m just not a sports fanatic like my friends are.

        Like

  6. I watched the Super Bowl, off and on as I did other things, but it was only the second football game that I watched during the year… and I watched more football than any other sport. 🙂 Interesting on the major, Bill. Mine was in International Relations with a focus on Africa. But at Berkeley in the 60s, I learned a lot more in the streets than I did attending classes. –Curt

    Like

  7. Lists like this always make me feel comforted – other people are as random as I am! And mistakes? As long as they’re near misses, they make great stories later, plus they are nearly always learning experiences. I got my BA in Anthropology, after which I promptly joined the Navy – I can’t say there was any connections whatsoever there. I knew there was a game last weekend, because I saw Seahawk stuff everywhere (I live in the PNW), and I’ve been around long enough to know that the Seahawks are football 🙂 but I didn’t know it was the Superbowl, and I didn’t know till after the weekend who the other team was, and which game it was. I admit, I always Google the Budweiser ad after the Bowl is over – I’m a sucker for those Clydesdales.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My mother told me she went to a Super Bowl party and the game was nearly over before she realized that the Seahawks were not New England. For many people (like her) it’s the only football game they watch all year.

      I have fond memories of my Grandpa’s Clydesdale named Champ. He pulled sleds of tobacco from the field and could take them to the barn without any driver. He just knew what to do. A gentle giant, four of us kids could ride him bareback at one time.

      When I left for college my intent was to have a career in the military. I had no intention of becoming a lawyer. Funny how life does things like that.

      Like

  8. Steve says:

    What Super Bowl?

    Like

  9. Cynthia says:

    So funny..Biscuitville. I had to dress like a Swiss Miss for my first job. It was a cheese shop called Alpen Pantry. I’m glad you decided to participate, your blog is really great and this is a fun post!

    Like

  10. barnraised says:

    I totally relate! Especially to #4!

    Like

  11. My favorite is “certified biscuit maker”! That is priceless. So are you the chief biscuit-maker at home?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Believe it or not, despite being a decorated former professional biscuit maker, I’ve never made biscuits at home. Maybe I need to get myself a rolling pin and try to bring back past glories. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. EllaDee says:

    I hate writing these type of things but I love reading them! 3. and 4. were my favourites. It’s amazing the various ways people resemble each other. I’m a mix so I look like which ever side of the family I’m with, and even though we’re half-siblings the resemblence between my sisters, brother & I is remarkable.
    I’m a clutz so I’m laughing with you rather than at you re 4. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I have felt especially clutzy lately. Must be a downcycle on my biorhythms. 🙂

      Even before my son towered over me and grew out his thick red mane, I didn’t see the resemblance. But plenty of others do, so there must be something to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

