Top 10 Posts of 2014

Lots of WordPress bloggers have been sharing their end of year reports and it’s been fun reading them.

I enjoy top-10 lists.  For the last several years I’ve started the new year with a post listing my 10 most-viewed posts of the previous year. I’m a little slow getting to it this year, but here’s my review of 2014.

Last year the blog was visited by folks from 113 different countries, with the top 5 countries being the U.S, Australia, the U.K., Canada and South Africa.

The busiest day of the year was July 13, when I posted Encouraged and Frustrated, which was mainly me griping about deer eating our gardens.  Deer were a very popular (or unpopular, depending on how you look at it) subject on the blog last year.

The post that generated the most comments last year was Look Y’all I Took a Selfie, which was nothing but me photo-bombing Fatty’s selfie.

And the top-ten most-visited posts of  2014 were:

10. (tie)  Left Behind.  About the fawn living in our pigs’ pasture.

10. (tie) Radishes. A short post about the humble radish.

9. Career Opportunities.  Another anti-deer rant.  In this one I wonder what other career options I might have if deer put us out of business.

8. Natural Order and Natural Evil.  Over the years I’ve done several posts on the philosophical Problem of Evil. In this one, from December, 2009, I suggest a solution to the problem of natural evil–a solution I later became dissatisfied with, leading me to post a Disclaimer.  This has probably been the most popular of the seminary papers I posted.  I’ve posted others which haven’t generated nearly as much traffic, but which stand up better I think, such as my posts on the Canaanite genocide, violence in Islam and the apparent futility of the universe.

7. The Fatties.  We had great pigs in 2014.  They look so small in this post from last October.

6. What’s Alive in Front of Us. I wondered if anyone would read this one, and was surprised that my musings generated some great discussion and was one of the most popular posts of the year.  Probably my favorite on this list.

5. Coming Soon.  Anticipating/dreading the beginning of deer hunting season.  While tense at times, this year was much better than past years.

4. Purging Organic.  We had to purge the word “organic” from our website, social media and marketing materials last year.  My frustration with that generated good discussion.

3. Mud.  A perennial favorite, from May, 2009.  So why did Jesus rub mud in the man’s eyes?

2. The Trestle.  All I did was cut and paste Raymond Carver’s poem from Teresa Evangaline’s blog, in April, 2012.  It’s been one of the most popular posts on this site ever since.  Last year it came in at number one.

And most visited post of the year was…

1. Oceania has NOT always been at war with Eurasia.  From February, 2009, the popularity of this year’s landslide winner is probably due to kids using Google to do their homework.

Thanks to everyone who visited last year and especially to those of you who comment. It’s been fun to see a community developing here.  I’m looking forward to lots of great discussions in 2015.

10 comments on “Top 10 Posts of 2014

  1. Bill, your blog is the first one visited every morning as I wake up with the first cup of coffee. Since I found your blog it’s become my favorite not only because of the content but also the interaction you have with the commenters. The blog posts are about normal homestead life and then out of the blue you will throw a post in that has a thought provoking quote or poetry or other things that simulate the thought process. I like it. It’s a great way to face the coming day. Thanks for always making the start of the day interesting.

    Have a continued top notch blog day.

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I laughed at your comment about your top post — about kids doing homework. This is the time of year when I get lots visitors thanks to search phrases like “essay a mob has many heads but no brains.” Clearly, it’s in the curriculum for some grade level. The only thing I haven’t been able to do is pinpoint which of my posts is attracting them.

    I am glad to hear that this year’s deer hunting season wasn’t so bad.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Some of the search phrases I get are hilarious. I should do a blog post about that sometime. 🙂

      I get lots of them like “Why was Oceania at war with Eurasia?” or “Had Oceania always been at war with Eurasia?” No one who had read the book would do that search. My guess is that they’re trying to get the answers to homework questions without reading the book.

      We had a few confrontations this year with the “dog hunters” but it wasn’t nearly as bad as before. The community stood together pretty firmly. It was a relief when it was over.

      Like

  3. Joanna says:

    Nice that you dropped by my blog and so I got to know yours. Like you said, it is nice that you have drawn a community together. As for certification, that is a problem here in Europe too, but I think those who bother about good food, know the problems and go local if possible.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been great discovering another kindred spirit. I really enjoy your blog. Being able to connect with a like-minded homesteader in Latvia–you gotta love the internet.

      Like

  4. When I sit down for my first cup of tea in the morning, and open my blog reader, yours nearly always pops up first. Like Dave, I’ve come to count on it as part of my morning. I have no idea how you manage to post so regularly, with such variety and thought, but you do, and I’m grateful. My top post ever is one about a rooster I had who I caught in a nest box. Apparently the tag “rooster” has attracted a lot of views from Asia – I’m assuming people looking for cock fighting birds, but I could be wrong. I too appreciate your participation on my blog, as well as the community of thoughtful commenters here. Happy 2015!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Back at you. I enjoy your blog and appreciate all the wisdom you’ve shared here.

      I enjoy blogging. It’s sort of like a public journal for me. I’ve shifted directions on here a few times and even shut it down twice. But getting a post out every morning has become part of my morning routine too. It’s been great to be part of such a great community of readers and fellow bloggers.

      Like

  5. Really enjoyed reading some of your top post Bill, you are a good writer and remind me of a friend of mine. Writing doesn’t come easy for me and I am always envious of those who write so well. Looking forward to reading more of your post this coming year.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks for the kind words Gordon. I think I used to be more careful about the writing. These days I tend to dash off posts and seem to rarely post one that doesn’t have at least one spelling error in it. 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

