A Great Time of Year

IMG_5182

Kidding season here has hit a welcome lull.  It’s been a couple of days since any new faces arrived on the farm.

And now those born over the past couple of weeks are reaching their playful stage of life.  I love seeing them dashing across the pasture, leaping and twisting in the air, tussling with one another, playing king of the mountain and all their other baby goat games.

The proud Daddy.

The proud Daddy.

Kids just don't respect their elders these days

Kids just don’t respect their elders these days

IMG_5265

Nibbling on Rowan's tail.  Risky business.

Nibbling on Rowan’s tail. Risky business.

We’re still feeding our bottle babies Neo and Pearl.  We’re their surrogate mothers now.  It’s hard for me to work in the pasture now without tripping over them.  And if they spot me outside the pasture, sometimes they’ll climb through the fence to get to me.  I find myself having to sneak around, to avoid being seen.

IMG_5349

We’re expecting another wave of kids to start arriving soon.
IMG_5261

It’s a great time of year.

25 comments on “A Great Time of Year

  1. BeeHappee says:

    O my goodness, Bill, this is just so cute. I will show this to my kids, they will love it. Thank you for sharing. Wished we could come over and visit your little kids. 🙂

    Like

  2. What fun! All that beautiful, happy energy … Daddy does look very proud and pleased.

    Like

  3. Bill, new life on the homestead is very enjoyable, isn’t it. Those newly born young goats just seem to have grasped the concept of living life to the fullest. Even the pesky ones that love to follow you around and nip at your pants are loveable. I’m still hoping and praying that there will be minimum birthing complications with those that are left to be born. How many new goats have been born so far this season?

    Have a great new life day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The orphan Neo saw me in the garden today and he climbed through the pasture fence, then squeezed through the mesh in the deer fence to get to me. I have to hide from him when I go out.

      With this breed there will always be some kidding issues. This year hasn’t been any worse than normal. We stay focused on the happy endings, and we’ve had plenty of those.

      I’m not sure how many new ones we have right now. A bunch.

      Like

  4. jubilare says:

    I love the way kids’ tails wag when they nurse. I’ve helped my aunt feed orphan/rejected kids before and it’s a tyrannical level of cute!

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I find myself wondering if keeping up with all those goats is going to be akin to keeping up with all those Peytons! I still haven’t quite gotten over the fact that I turned up one of your relatives in my blog. Six degrees of separation, indeed.

    The kids are darling, of course. I always love a good imprinting story, too. I can just see you skulking around, trying to avoid your “kids.” And there are more to come? I’d die of all that cuteness around me: just melt away.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t know if I’m kin to your Mr. and Mrs. Peyton or not. Seems probable to me though.

      I’d guess we’re only about halfway through this cycle, so yes there should be plenty more on the way. 🙂

      Like

  6. They are absolutely gorgeous. They look so tiny compared to the buck – I guess because they are. That’s funny about having to sneak around hoping they won’t find you. I tend to do that in the summer, hoping the pigs won’t spot me and start squealing hopefully about food. These pictures feel very spring-like – perhaps the sunshine and general happiness pervading them. Very welcome in the gloomy mist that is my corner of the PNW just now.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We’ve had lots of sunshine and fairly warm weather lately. It’s not spring, but it’s a lot nicer than winters can be. I know what you mean about the pigs. It’s not so bad now with only 2 left (only one of whom insists on giving me a pig kiss), but when there are more I have to race to one of the troughs and dump some food, so that while they’re attacking that I can fill the other one and do whatever else needs doing. I’m sure anyone watching would find it amusing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. bobraxton says:

    definitely goat my attention

    Like

  8. Farmgirl says:

    Great photographs! That’s a whole lot of cuteness going on at your place.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I was disappointed that most of the pictures I took came out blurry. I took the one of the bottle babies while simultaneously holding both bottles (and in the dark) so for that one I have a good excuse. 🙂

      Like

  9. smfarm says:

    Kidding season is always my favorite time of year. You can’t help but smile when watching their antics and their pure joy of life.

    Like

  10. I know that there are exceptions, Bill, when young ones get to rowdy for their elders, but for the most part, I am always impressed with how tolerant older animals are of baby animals. –Curt

    Like

  11. Those kids are just too cute!!! Funny about the two following you around. I bottle fed a calf once that always wanted to follow me around even after he got big. Luckily he couldn’t climb through fences as easily!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s an advantage when you need them to come to you. But these two are making it difficult for me to get anything done near the pasture these days. I can hardly take a step without fear of stepping on them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

