A Bird

A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.

Maya Angelou

9 comments on “A Bird

  1. . . .which is why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird. . .

    No, wait, that’s not right. 😉

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m a morning person and really enjoy watching the world of nature wake up in the morning. During the warm months, there’s not better way to start the day than with a cup of steaming coffee sitting out on the front patio in the cool of a summer morning. As the sun rises and the light begins to filter through the trees the birds, squirrels, rabbits, and turkeys if I’m at
    Terra Nova Gardens begin to wake up. Their morning songs and antics are soothing to soul and just give the day a better start.

    My thoughts about birds and their songs are a little different than most people. I believe that God made birds to sing because He just like hearing their songs. I think it’s a form of bird worship to God for being created. I’m sure that God would love to hear us sing to Him like the birds do every morning but unfortunately the neighbors would not appreciate me making a joyful noise (my singing) at that time of the day. 🙂

    Have a great bird song day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I heard an interview with a scientist who had spent his career studying bird songs. He was trying to figure out the reason they sing. Eventually he concluded that birds sing because they like singing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    And sometimes, because it has a song that seeks an answer; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like the time of year when birdsongs wake me up in the morning. Sometimes when I’m working outside there’s so much birdsinging going on it sounds like they’re having some sort of singing contest.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        And that’s precisely what I meant… First thing in the Spring, it IS a contest, for Pete’s sake – a contest where the best guy gets the girl AND the prime breeding territory – and, after that, it’s all about keeping her happy while she sits on the nest, hatching his offspring; )

        Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        I found two articles in Wikipedia about Mockingbirds, the first of which described their nearest relative as being the Thrasher; who is, funnily enough, the bird who came to my mind as you were describing your “show off” Mockingbird. The Brown Thrasher is my favourite cheerfully chatty fellow, as he says SO many things from high up on his dead Maple branch and always repeats everything twice: )
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mockingbird
        If you have the time, this second article has massive amounts of well-written, very detailed information…
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_mockingbird

        Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    Bird song is one of my joys, particularly in the country but even here in the city. My favorite is the magpie with its individual songs and recreational warbling… http://www.unisa.edu.au/Research/Barbara-Hardy-Institute/Resources/Fact-Sheets/Australian-magpies-whats-in-a-song/
    Inspiration to sing our tunes and create our own answers 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m not sure if you have mockingbirds there, but they’re my favorites to listen to. Great repertoire. Sometimes one will sit in a nearby tree while I’m working in a garden and go through every song he knows. When that happens I tell him, “Now you’re just showing off.”

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

