Farm Living is the Life for Me

DSC_0292

18 comments on “Farm Living is the Life for Me

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Don’t need to listen to the vid… Every time I see your avatar(s) it automatically starts running in my head ; )
    So, is this a recent shot? ‘Cause, I’ve gotta tell ya, that’s the best darned frozen/end-of-season garden I’ve ever seen!
    (Eddie & Eva[Zsa Zsa? Never could remember which was which]: have nothin’ on you two; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That garden doesn’t look as good up close. We’re getting plenty of good food for us, but not enough to supply our customers. But with all the unseasonably warm weather we’ve been having, it’s starting to come on again.

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Yes, I’ve often thought about this intro to Green Acres for many of my blogger friends. I have good intentions some day to get a photo of me in front of Terra Nova Gardens wearing bib overhauls and a gardening hat holding a pitch fork for a business card. Not that I am thinking about starting a business but it would be great to just have one to give people. Of course that would mean that I’d have to have a website as well. My ultimate plan would be to have community gardens but not in the usual way. My plan would not be to have any particular garden plot for each person but for all to have access to the entire garden. Work would be on what ever needs attention on any particular day. I’m not good at managing people or projects so I’m very reluctant to begin such an endeavor. Maybe some day when I’m too old to do the physical work will be the time to expand into garden management with others doing the work but hopefully that won’t be for a few more years maybe even a decade. 🙂

    Have a great Green Acres day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie wants to use a shot like this on our marketing materials next year. We have some others that are better. The Green Acres story matches ours in some ways of course.

      We have friends in town who are launching an urban community garden. Cherie and I are going to be helping with it. I’m excited about it. I’ll share more on it during the year I’m sure and I know you’re going to find it interesting.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Absolutely hilarious!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie has been wanting to get some pictures like that for years. Our daughter, who has a good camera, was home over Christmas and she took this one and several others. I was trying to imitate Oliver’s serious look (itself a spoof on American Gothic of course). Little did I know Cherie was smiling. 🙂

      Like

  4. Love the picture – and Cherie’s farming accessories :). I too don’t need the video, the minute I saw the title, the song was running in my head.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We took some at the barn and at the chicken coop too. It was kind of fun–although I don’t like putting on a suit.

      I figured the video would help anyone who didn’t grow up watching that show understand. 🙂

      Like

  5. Zambian Lady says:

    I must say I just love your gardening attire. I must tell my parents to also ditch their gardening clothes and wear their Sunday best to the field 🙂 Nice photo

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We were just having a little fun, playing off of that old TV show. In it a lawyer quits his job and moves out to the country to be a farmer, taking along his reluctant city-girl wife. In the show the man always wore a business suit while doing his farm work and his wife was always dressed up too. I prefer my bib overalls.

      Like

  6. Some fun, you two. I can see why you identify. I once had the opportunity to drive Eddie Albert around on a Christmas Seal media tour a couple of years after Green Acres ended, which dates me a little, eh? He sat up front with me and talked about the pig. You would have loved it, Bill. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  7. avwalters says:

    I feel dumb. I grew up mostly without television. All this time I thought the avatar photo was you and Cherie (which, as a former art major, I identified as being a spoof on American Gothic–but totally missed the popular culture television spoof. I’ll have to readjust my mental picture.

    On a more practical note–is the fence electrified? How do you keep the deer out with such a short fence? (This week I’m buying ten foot cedar posts for the garden fence.) We wouldn’t stand a chance with your fence. Too many deer.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m glad I posted the clip from the show. I figured there would be some people who wouldn’t get the joke without it. It was a silly show but we’ve been teased about the similarities between the plot line and our lives. So we have some fun with it sometimes.

      Yes the net fencing is electrified using solar powered batteries. I really don’t understand why the deer don’t just hop over it. They jump the fences around our pastures regularly and those are electric too (and higher). There must be something about these kinds of fences that frighten them. I have a few plants that ended up outside the fence. I took a picture a few days ago showing how the deer had mowed our mustard greens to the ground, right up to the very edge of the fence, but didn’t jump it and eat the rest of them. Some people put peanut butter on the fence at the beginning of the year, so when the deer lick it they’ll get a shock. I tried that once but never saw any evidence that they licked it. If they ever decide to start jumping over the fence then we’re out of business.

      Like

Leave a Reply

