Pig Kisses

Whenever I go in their pasture, the pigs insist on pressing their wet and usually dirty snouts on my legs.  A friend of mine calls this “pig kisses.”

A routine garden-variety pig kiss.

A routine garden-variety pig kiss.

When I take them their breakfast, the pigs start drooling when they see me coming.  I mean, they don’t just drool.  They DROOL–emitting what seems like bucketfuls of their foamy pig spit.  It’s a pity I haven’t been able to capture this salivary spectacle in a photograph yet.  I’m sure you are all disappointed.

So once a week Cherie washes my work bibs–that being the maximum period she allows me to wear them between washings. Yesterday morning when I put them on, they were crisp and clean and as I headed out for chores.

But alas they weren’t to remain unspoiled very long.  When I entered the pigs’ pasture one of them came up to me and began rubbing her head up and down my pants leg, liberally soaking it with pig slobber.  It was a particularly sloppy pig kiss.

Here she is afterwards, mocking me.

"What happened to your pants?"  Hehehehe

“What happened to your pants?” Hehehehe

An occupational hazard I suppose.

23 comments on “Pig Kisses

  1. Joanna says:

    I had to laugh! Ian tries to time his wash days – of his clothes that is – with time to get them dry, which is a struggle at this time of the year. It is usually timed with doing something slightly different that means he won’t be wearing his work clothes the following day. Pig kisses aren’t Ian’s problem though, it is being in the crossfire between two alpacas having a dispute, which fortunately is not that common these days, well getting caught that is. He’s faster than he used to be and anticipates the possible areas of dispute and tries to think of ways to avoid them, such as feeding time with arguments over one bowl.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We run into the timing issue here too. We air dry whenever possible, and that can take a while this time of year. So sometimes I can’t wear my bibs on wash day or the day after. It seems that despite my best intentions I often end up doing something involving oil or grease on those days.

      I think I’d rather have to deal with a pig slobbering on me than with an alpaca spitting at me. 🙂

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        It’s rarely deliberate. We do have one alpaca that expresses her displeasure at having things done to her like toe nail cutting or injections by spitting, the rest of the time it is just the crossfire. Knowing that she does that though is fine, as we make sure we are not in the firing line 😀

        Like

  2. Dani says:

    Sounds just like Minky – but at least he’s not got a slobbery mouth LOL

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    “And this little piggy went, ‘Gotcha again, didn’t I?’ all the way home!

    Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    pigs are clean, intelligent, affectionate
    creatures. Pigs are the fourth smartest animal group
    on the planet, following only humans,
    apes and chimps, whales and dolphins.
    Their intelligence, curiosity and charm make them appealing

    Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Pig kisses each day. Ha, you are truly a blessed man. 🙂 I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, pig, in my humble opinion, pigs are the most intelligent animals on the homestead. I can just see the devilish look on their face in your pictures. They can be the most frustrating but funny animals, don’t you think? They are so driven by food and especially glad to see you when it’s feeding time. My experiences with pigs were good, bad, and ugly. Good when they were inside the fence and under control, bad when I was chasing them around the country neighborhood trying get them back inside the pasture, and ugly when they went off to market. Most of my pig experience was spent in the good. If I were to have homestead animals again, I’m pretty sure it would be pigs over any others. Well, I don’t know. Ducks can be funny little creatures as well.

    Have a great piggy slobber kisses day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy the pigs. They’re not much trouble (the only time they’ve ever escaped was when I left the gate open) and they have fun personalities. That is true of our goats too though.

      We don’t ring the noses on our pigs so they can be pretty hard on the pasture, especially this time of year. We’ve thought of significantly increasing the number we raise, but we have to take that into account. We’re still thinking about it.

      I’ve never raised ducks, but we did have some geese when I was a boy and taking care of them was my responsibility. They were fun, but could be pushy sometimes. 🙂

      Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Gee, what a way to go, being “adored to death”! But it must feel pretty good getting all of that affection every day? Almost like being a Piggy Santa Claus: )
    Sorry Cherie! (My condolences on the laundry):
    Another great pic of your extraordinarily happy pigs!

    Like

  7. EllaDee says:

    The same mindset as cats who just need to leave a little scent and fur as a momento. I hope you give up your bibs to the washer without a battle… I’m always suggesting to the G.O. it’s time to wash those pants, jacket etc when in fact as far as I’m concerned it’s well past time 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As Joanna suggested, there’s never a good time to wash my favorite work bibs. Left to my own devices I’d probably keep wearing them way too long. So Cherie requires me to turn them over for washing once a week. 🙂

      Like

  8. Laughing here Bill. I once had a basset hound whose jowls would fill whenever he thought treats were coming. He would shake his head with enthusiasm to get rid of the slobber— and decorate our walls, not to mention anyone who was standing nearby. Your pig kisses sound very civilized. I have a neighbor who feeds deer, They kick him on the shins when they feel like he should hurry up the process. –Curt

    Like

  9. avwalters says:

    We’ve talked about keeping pigs. My husband doesn’t think he can do it. Chickens is one thing–it’s hard to feel too bad about having to dispatch a chicken. Pigs are bright though, and that bothers him. We may have to stick with chickens. We had emus in Two Rock. They were a trip. They used to peck me gently (Kisses, maybe?) I’d let them do it until one ran off with an earring as a souvenir.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That part of farm life is the hardest for me. It’s especially hard with goats and pigs, but I don’t find it easy with chickens either. It is a joy to have them though, and I wouldn’t eat pork otherwise. Plus we’re able to help a lot of other families eat healthier and every pig we raise is arguably one less that would otherwise have a hellish life. That said, it definitely is a difficult thing to deal with.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. farmerkhaiti says:

    the caption on the end photo!! HAHAHA! I know my carhartts need a wash when they stand up on their own after I take them off…full of pig slobber and all kinds of good stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

