Wesley and the Food Movement

Yesterday Seedbed published a blog post written by me, which they titled “John Wesley: The Precursor to the Food Movement.”

The post introduces my argument that the ethical principles motivating our food movement are deeply embedded in Wesley’s thought and teachings of 250 years ago, with a little bit of background about me and how I came to that conclusion.

Check it out if it sounds like it might be interesting:  http://seedbed.com/feed/john-wesley-food-movement/

10 comments on “Wesley and the Food Movement

  1. avwalters says:

    A good article. “Ethical” sounds so high-brow, though. It’s why I try to stick to “sustainable.” Tell me if I’m wrong, but isn’t it just good old common sense to farm in a way that enriches the soil and promises good harvests for time to come? For livestock, doesn’t it also make perfect sense that, if you eat meat and animal products you’d want to eat from healthy animals?
    Conventional high-input farming confuses husbandry with production. It is a factory based model–designed on concepts of cost minimization and economies of scale–that lower the standards of production to the base minimum of what the market will bear. Pandering to the lowest common denominator, it manifests all of the worst aspects of our Western economies. Is that the kind of food you want to eat?
    Every day, Big Ag strives to create new “food products” that emphasize shelf life over nutrition, visual presentation over taste. Studies show that many produce items sold today are significantly less nutritious than the same item sold 30 years ago. And the “Food Industry” covers its tracks by lacing its products with sugar, salt and fat. It’s a race to the bottom.
    Our culture spend more per capita on health care than any other–and with grim results. We need to look beyond the insurance brokered concept of healthcare, and back to the basics of real health. Eat real food. Participate in the present. Engage in real living with real people. Wesley didn’t have to deal with our modern diversions from sustainability but clearly he stuck to those core beliefs which support wholeness and community, through food and all the elements of living. We should be so wise.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Amen. Well said and I’m in full agreement of course. I address these things in the manuscript. I’ll be sharing more of it in the future.

      Perhaps sustainable would have been a better word there. In the “Wesleyan food ethic” that I’ve suggested, I used the word “ethical” to try to capture a set of factors including organic/chem-free, locally-sourced and non-CAFO.

      By the way, I didn’t write the bio or the intro on the main page (which refers to me as an “ethical farmer”). I don’t like the bio and I wouldn’t have described myself that way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EllaDee says:

    I’m a little late getting to this but I wanted to take my time reading it, as the topic interests me, as well as the back story to how it came about for you. Sometimes it’s a matter of finding the right answers to ask the right questions! I think it’s a good time to introduce the food movement to everyone.

    Like

  3. Hello Bill – I saw your article on Seedbed & I love it. I left a reply requesting the ability to repost on my own blog & hope you’ll consider. My message was … “Bill – Could I repost your article on my blog (Survey of Christianity – http://www.SurveyOfChristianit…), along with appropriate attribution to you and links to your original article (or anywhere you would prefer – your own blog, social media accounts, etc.)? As I research my belief system, I have determined that I have Methodist leanings & I have always been a foodie, as well as a huge Michael Pollan fan. Your post beautifully ties so many things together.”

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. I saw your comment and I wrote the folks at Seedbed to draw their attention to it. I was waiting on a response from them, but I can’t think of any reason they would mind, so by all means go ahead.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ll have plenty more to say on that subject in the future!

      Like

  4. OMG – You are making me so happy, right now. I will attribute the article to you at the seedbed account; however, would you like any other attribution? Bio, Description, social media accts, etc.?

    Like

Leave a Reply

