‘Tis the Season

Johnny’s came last week.

Today Baker Creek and Fedco arrived.

IMG_4880

This weekend we’ll do our seed inventory and then we’ll start figuring out what we need for next year. As with all years, we’ll add a few new things to our old tried-and-true favorites.

The gardens I imagine in the winter are all weed and bug free, and the deer don’t eat them.

Summertime tells a different story, of course. But that story will have to wait. This is the season for seed catalogs, and utopian gardens.

7 comments on “‘Tis the Season

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yea, my seed catalogs are starting the trickle in as well. Ha, I laughed with the phrase utopian garden but that’s exactly what I see in my mind for next year’s garden. All weed free and pristine looking with nary an issue with animals. Every year starts off that way with nicely tilled and mulched garden beds but then reality comes to the garden and takes up residence there. By the end of June reality has matured in the garden and battle is on to eke out a harvest. January is a time for seed viability testing. My daughter works at a national name drug store that had Burpee seed packs at the end of the Spring planting season for a quarter a piece. I couldn’t resist and bought quite a few. Hopefully, they will be viable one more year. Even if only viability is half, it will still be enough for my use. I really can’t use 200 tomato seeds or 50 cucumber plants. It seems that I always buy too many seeds but it’s just the way of the gardener, don’t you think?

    I am excited about this next year. I started some new growing techniques that I want to continue to perfect this next year. Every year gets better with less work required during the growing season. So here’s to the next year’s utopian garden. May it out produce all the past year’s gardens and may it not be harmed by wildlife of any kind. If you are going to dream, dream big, don’t you think?

    Have a great browsing the seed catalogs day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m still waiting on another favorite (Southern Exposure) but the ones we have so far have been enough to work up a mighty appetite for gardening.

      I usually only keep seeds for a maximum of two years, but I know that’s kind of arbitrary. If kept well some will last a long time. I read recently that people used to believe 5-10 year old melon seeds were the best.

      Like

  2. bobraxton says:

    summer – time
    and the weeding is easy
    deer are jumpin’

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If only it were true. The weeding is the most difficult in the heart of summer. As for deer jumpin’, that’s usually at it’s worst this time of year.

      Like

  3. avwalters says:

    I usually save my seed urgings for late February. By then, I’m seriously in need of garden (anticipation) therapy. Right now I’m keeping my eye open for 10 foot cedar posts. I’ll need a bunch of them for deer fencing.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The fever is definitely worse in February. The catalogs will be well dog-eared by then. But here we begin starting seeds the first week of February, so we’ll have to have our orders in by then.

      Liked by 1 person

      • avwalters says:

        Oooh, now I’m jealous. We cannot start ours until April. This next year we’ll be using mostly seeds we saved and brought from Two Rock. It will be very interesting to see how our California favorites do in a new climate.

        Like

Leave a Reply

