The Road Rarely Traveled

I see some parts of the farm every day.  Some parts of it I visit infrequently.

I hadn’t been down one of our roads in a while, so yesterday I used it, rather than the road I normally use.

Our primary "pond road" is to the left.  The road we rarely use forks to the right.

Our primary “pond road” is to the left. The road we rarely use forks to the right.

IMG_4840

IMG_4766

I’m glad I did.

21 comments on “The Road Rarely Traveled

  1. “… and that has made all the difference.” It’s nice to see things with fresh eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, not that a road like that has to lead anywhere but if it doesn’t go to the pond, where does it go? I bet it’s a really beautiful walk any time of the year. Do you have to do maintenance on this road to keep the scrub trees from taking it over. If an old road here were to not be maintained the weeds and scrub bushes would take it over in a matter of a couple years. I do have some tree cover on one of my properties but it’s on a steep bank and needs to stay there for erosion control. As the work load decreases, more time can be spent enjoying the beauty of nature and reflecting on the blessings of life, don’t you think?

    Have a great fall beauty enjoyment day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      In the first picture, the pond is off the right. These roads go from the pond to the main paved road.

      I bushhog the road once a year and we have to keep the young saplings along the edge cut down.

      Like

  3. Farmgirl says:

    You have such a beautiful farm.

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    You’ve taken the road less traveled in more ways than one. Our property has steep, forested hills. Up one side there’s a two track, a remnant of the old logging days. We’re looking for a way to get the Kubota into currently inaccessible areas. We walk the woods sounding like treasure hunters searching for clues, “Maybe here, along this grade?” “No, too steep. Maybe here, through the pines.” Sometime soon we’ll have to commit to a safe path, but for now, it’s fun just planning and dreaming.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I know what you mean. One of the advantages of our building the pond was that we could connect the two halves of this place, which are separated by a creek and steep hills leading down to it. Still much of our farm can only be accessed by walking.

      Like

  5. “When you come to the fork in the road, take it.” Yogi Berra. ” 🙂

    Like

  6. Frost’s poem is almost my mantra. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  7. bobraxton says:

    television – 60 minutes – program on 1,000 tractor-trailer truckloads of coal ash – into the Dan River – frightening (very) and very, very sad. I grew up near the Haw River (cousins by the Deep River) North Carolina.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    I started wandering around your photos, and almost couldn’t find my way back here to comment. It’s beautiful country. The one little oddity that stopped me is that last photo. The tree all the way at the end of the road, the rounded one, looks for all like world like a René Magritte tree, plopped into the middle of the Virginia countryside. What pure fun!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Good observation. After you pointed it out I was a little puzzled at first. It looks like a plump cedar and I didn’t recall it being there. But when I zoomed in on the photo I saw that it is an illusion. There are actually four pines that combine to give the impression of one tree. M. Magritte would find that interesting, I suspect.

      Like

  9. Leigh says:

    Oh my yes, it’s beautiful! What a blessing to have such lovely routes to choose from.

    Like

Leave a Reply

