The Best

Thanks to late planting and an early freeze, our fall gardens aren’t what they should be.

But they’re still generating more than enough to keep us well fed.  For example:

IMG_4806

IMG_4793

IMG_4789

IMG_4651

IMG_4831

And of course we’re still enjoying plenty of goodies from the summer gardens. Last night, for example, we had delicious black bean/sweet potato burritos to go along with a side of sauteed kale.

Of all the great things about the homesteading lifestyle,the home-grown food has to be the best.

18 comments on “The Best

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, the best part of my urban gardening is the comments I get from the people when I give them produce. They are so surprised at how great it tastes and ask how I grew it. People have been so far away from real food for so long that they have forgotten what it’s really supposed to taste like. It gives me an open door to talk a little bit about how food is grown for transportation and not taste. My teaching about the failing food system is on a much smaller scale that you and Cherie’s. I am not a group speaker and mainly educate people on a one to one basis. It’s difficult to keep it down to baby bites for them to swallow and mostly it’s just by tasting the difference and enjoying the flavor of locally grown vegetables. I don’t expect a big following nor do I expect a huge amount of converts to gardening. I just like growing stuff and giving it away.

    Have a great day eating from the garden.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I believe education may be the most important thing we do. If all of our other arguments for sustainable agriculture are unpersuasive–the superior taste of real food is undeniable. Keep up the fight. 🙂

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    I have fresh vegetable envy right now as the snow is coming down here.

    Like

  3. Bill, a question: I get it that big farm tomatoes and fruits have lost their taste in terms of local vs national/international, but what about broccoli? –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been a long time since I had any store-bought broccoli. But whenever I’m in a grocery store I always go check out the produce. The broccoli I’ve seen there always looks old to me. Maybe the taste difference won’t be very pronounced if the broccoli is cooked, but I’m pretty sure it would be very obvious raw.

      Like

    • EllaDee says:

      I can only answer in terms of Australia but supermarket broccoli tastes very dull compared to farmers market organic broccoli which is sweeter, better texture and more broccoli-y but I’m think that’s the same for just about any fruit & veg 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. avwalters says:

    I always got a special thrill from late season gleanings.

    Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    Yum. Your dinner sounds delicious… would cost you a fortune in a fancy restaurant, so much better homegrown, cooked and eaten 🙂

    Like

  6. zambianlady says:

    Ah, kale. It’s been a long time since I had that delicious vegetable.

    Like

  7. Lyndille Mae says:

    You have a great farm. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

