Slowing Down

IMG_4576

In the summer the days are long, but they’re never long enough.  At times keeping up with all the work that needs doing seems next to impossible.

But now the days are short, and so is the list of things that must be done.  Of course there is always work to be done on a farm, regardless of the season.  But this time of year there are few things that absolutely have to be done now.  So the pace slows down.  Nature rests, and so can we.

It’s also the time of year when we can enjoy a little time off the farm.

Saturday night we went to a concert.  Yesterday we went to a play.

I love the long busy days of summer.  But it’s nice to slow down sometimes too.

10 comments on “Slowing Down

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, ha, things have really slowed down here as well. It’s one of the things to enjoy about Winter. Now there’s rest and relaxation to enjoy the bounty that’s been stored away from the summer. I may experiment with some fermentation with store bought stuff. I will definitely be stocking up the food storage area with sale items during this Thanksgiving sale time. The storage area stays about 50 degrees in the Winter. Since the garden didn’t fare well, I will have to survive on food from the big box store. No tomatoes though. I refuse to buy those steroidal globs of plant life that look like tomatoes but are tasteless and crunchy. A tomato is not supposed to crunch. I like rice, beans, potatoes, etc. They can all be purchased raw and cooked at home. I’m probably never going to be totally organic but with each passing year, I’m getting just a little bit closer.

    Have a great slowing down time.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t eat those cardboard tomatoes either. Winter is not the time to eat tomatoes.

      Now is the time to enjoy things like potatoes, beans and winter squash. But I’m already looking forward to that first tomato of next year.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Farmgirl says:

    I am enjoying the slower time now too. It is hard to decompress after such a crazy season but it sure is nice to relax for a bit! What play did you see?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We saw an excellent production of Fiddler on the Roof by a local youth theater group. We went to the matinee on the last day it was running. A nice way to spend a cold rainy Sunday afternoon.

      Like

  3. I too am appreciating the longer nights – finally getting dug into the long list of books I want to read over the indoor months. I spend the last month of summer hanging onto the thought that the shorter days are coming, and I spend the waning days of winter excited about the coming increase in daylight hours.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m starting to get a lot more reading done too. It’s totally dark here by 5:30 now, leaving me a lot more time with books.

      Like you, I look forward to the calmer darker days, but it doesn’t take long for we to start anticipating the return on of long warm sunny days.

      Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    We went to a concert on Saturday night too. Apparently a Sagittarius full moon, and a good time for such things 🙂 Practically it’s been a busy time making early festive season preparations, all done now, so for very different reasons, a lessening of some aspects of pace here as well 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I honestly didn’t feel like going. But once there we really enjoyed it and afterwards I was glad we went. It’s like that with me usually. I resist leaving the farm for things like that but always seem to enjoy the experience when we do.

      Like

  5. df says:

    It would be hard to spend all 12 months of the year attending to tasks that must be done right now. Whenever I pine for a fine weather all the year round, it doesn’t take me long to remember the welcome change of rhythm that the seasons give us. Attending a concert and then a play sounds like a great treat and change of pace.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well said. Sometimes at the height of summer I’ll start to feel some anxiety when the to-do list becomes impossibly long and nature makes demands that I can’t satisfy. As much as I may begin to look forward to those days in the cold and dark of winter, I wouldn’t want that to live like that year round either. The seasons build in times of rest for all our nature, I think, including for us humans. We’re meant to slow down some this time of year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

