Pre-chores

I’m thinking about the things I do every morning–feed and release the chickens, put wood in the stove, feed the pigs, etc.  Those are my pre-breakfast chores.

But they’re not how I begin my days.  Before I get to those I have my pre-chores.

I’m an early riser, so this time of year it’s still dark outside when I get up. Before I can begin any of my outside work I have my daily cup of coffee. While I’m making it, I scan the headlines on CNN and Google News–that being the 2014 version of reading the morning paper. Then I check my email.  Cherie handles the farm email and there’s usually not much for me to see on my personal email account so that doesn’t take long.

Over the years I’ve bookmarked hundreds of blogs, online journals and newspapers.  Every morning while I’m having my coffee I read a handful of them.  Some mornings I’ll also read from a devotional.

Every morning I make a list of things I’m going to day that day, putting them in some kind of order.  I write the list on a folded note card and carry it in my pocket all day to help remind me of what needs doing.

And of course I publish a blog post–something I’ve done nearly every day for over six years.  Try that and at some point you’ll have done so many posts that you’ll eventually end up blogging about what you do while having your coffee in the morning.

By then it’s usually light enough for me to start the outside part of the day.

26 comments on “Pre-chores

  1. Dave Werner says:

    I do the same thing you do except do Bible reading and prayer first–before computing but not before hot tea. Oh, and I also read your blog with my other online stuff every morning!

    Like

  2. Buffy says:

    I enjoy your blog. Have a great day! We are under a very windy deep freeze here in Arkansas! Brr. No gardening today!

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Very, very clever. I was smiling in recognition at your routine, and then I laughed at how you turned it into today’s post. The first thing I get to do after finishing my coffee is get the “plant sanctuary” prepared. We have a hard freeze warning for tonight, and some of my babies will have to be brought indoors. This usually is a December or January routine. Ah, well.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s definitely too early for weather that cold. We had near record highs earlier this week and now it’s forecast to go into the low 20s tomorrow night. Say what??

      We’re about a week away from harvesting broccoli and 2 or 3 weeks away on cabbage, cauliflower and kohlrabi. Hoping the veggies survive the arctic blast.

      Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Lol. So you have a few years head start on me then in respect of blogging. I have to wait for your blog though, as it is early afternoon when you publish it for me. I’m on Eastern European Time. I must admit that I am longing to be actually living out on our land and then I can let the chickens out before breakfast. I don’t always get to do that, usually only once a week and only because I take my hot porridge out with me when we travel the 4 miles to our land.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      One of the things I like about blogging is how it can create community over such long distances. I’m glad to be able to swap stories, ideas, inspirations, etc. with good folks across the U.S., Canada, Australia, Latvia and beyond!

      When we first moved here we were renting a house several miles from our farm. I much prefer not having to drive here now (especially on cold mornings). But we do what we have to do. Being a few miles away from the farm was certainly better than my old city life. 🙂

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        I can imagine, although I was blessed with never having to go that route. The mere thought makes me shudder. I don’t mind too much the occasional trips to the city for my studies, but to do that all the time. No thanks!

        Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yes, morning routine. We all have them even if we don’t know it. There was a time in my life during the last couple years of my wife’s life that every thing I did was a routine. All I had to do was remember the order of the first thing in the set of routines and the rest of the steps in that routine just naturally came. I wouldn’t recommend a life like that to anyone but it was necessary during that time of mine. There’s still some carry over from those years oh so long ago. There’s a routine for cleaning the kitchen counter, the kitchen floor, mowing the yard, etc. You get the idea. Even though I don’t have to live like that any more and have way more freedom to be spontaneous, the routines still kick in at times. It is an efficient way to approach repeating tasks because once the routine is established in my mind I really don’t have to think about it much until it’s completed.

    I am indeed amazed at bloggers that put out a post every day. I put one out maybe every couple weeks and even at that I have trouble finding enough to write about that I feel would interest anyone. Your living on a working homestead helps but still that’s a lot of posting. I do enjoy every one and it’s high on my morning routine to read the comments of the day before and the current day’s post.

    Have a great morning routine day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      One thing about blogging as often as I do is that I’m bound to start repeating myself. I notice at the bottom of this post, where WordPress links other posts that are similar, there are links to 2 posts titled “Morning Chores” and one titled “Beginning the Day.” 🙂

      Glad you enjoy the blog Dave. I always look forward to your excellent comments.

      Like

  6. Diane says:

    Wow every day for 6 years, that must be a record. I have been doing my daily dairy for a couple of years now and I was impressed with that!!!!

    I do miss not having animals any more, they were so much part of my early life. On the other hand we can go on holiday at the drop of a hat without any animal worries so there are a few advantages.

    Have a good day Diane

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Blogging every day has just become part of my routine. I enjoy it. It’s a nice outlet for me and (as is obvious) I don’t put a lot of effort into it.

      Having animals to tend does act as something of an anchor. The responsibilities of farm life have put an end to our traveling days. That’s OK with me though as I’m ready to stay put for a while.

      Like

  7. There’s a sweet, silent comfort in knowing some of my blogging friends are also up early getting ready for the day, a camaraderie, even. It brings me great joy to know you and Cherie are out there fighting the good fight for the things of substance.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      This is a such a sweet and encouraging comment. Thanks Teresa. I appreciate all the beauty you’ve contributed to my life over the years. I’m not sure but you may have been the first person to comment on my blog. Certainly you were one of the first. I hope to keep enjoying your company for a long time.

      Like

  8. Up at 5:30 here. Make coffee, do journal, check news and social media. By then, Peggy is up so I prepare a light breakfast (That’s one of my chores. Peggy does lunch. We split dinners.) I then read non-fiction and do Qigong. After that it is time to jump into work. Usually around 8:30. No farm to run, however. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I forgot to mention social media. I check to see if I have any facebook messages too.
      I had to look up Qigong. Sounds interesting. My wife does yoga every morning and I’ve wanted to take it up but never have. Back in my other life I would exercise, but that isn’t necessary now. 🙂

      Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    I wonder how many of us bloggers have the similar practices… up early with a coffee for virtual visits around the world and if time permits a glance at mainstream online media. I know of many other bloggers who do the same, and it’s pleasant to think of us all over the world sharing our morning coffees… at different times. My pre-chores day starts when the G.O. leaves for work, about 5.40 am and the rest of the days starts at 6.20 am when when the alarm I have set for it goes off. The G.O. suggests nearly every day I should stay in bed for a while longer but if I did that I’d never get anything done!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like the image of thousands of us bloggers, bleary-eyed as we sip our morning coffee, reading the comments that came in overnight and wondering about our next post. It’s been a lot of fun connecting to interesting people around the world.

      Like

  10. I work everyday until I drop into bed at night, but my mornings are pure luxury. I have espresso with a dollop of homemade caramel sauce served to me in bed by my husband. I go through my email and read my favorite blogs – yours is one of my very favorites of course! and then I get up to feed the animals, let the chickens out, load up the firewood, etc…
    That time is precious to me and it sets my day off right because either I’ve been inspired, amused or enlightened.
    Nice having coffee with you and your followers!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That sounds like a very nice way indeed to begin a day of hard work. I’m glad to be a part of your morning routine. 🙂

      My wife has an entirely different routine in the morning. She journals and reads from a devotional, but would never try to blog or read blogs so early in the morning. But I’ve been doing it so long now it would seem strange to start my day without blogging.

      Like

  11. pattisj says:

    Enjoyed reading this.

    Like

  12. avwalters says:

    Nice early morning rhythms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

