Instagram

For any of you Instagrammers, you can follow us there at “White Flint Farm.”  We post infrequently but we try to give folks a view of things around here every now and then.

Using the Instagram filters, it’s easy for even an unskilled photographer like me to jazz up an ordinary cell-phone photo.

Consider this shot I took out in the pasture a couple of days ago.

Original photo

Original photo

Using an Instagram filter

Using an Instagram filter

This one came out especially nice.

IMG_4290

26 comments on “Instagram

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, there used to be a saying as I grew up that went something like this, “Believe nothing of what you hear and only half of what you see and you should be ok in life.” With the advent of digital photography, what we see can’t be believed any more. I often wonder how video or photograph evidence can be believed in courts these days. Even I, on my level of lower expertise, can doctor up photos to make them look much better than the original just as you have done.

    The world of phone cameras has overtaken regular camera sales. I don’t think there’s a single cell phone that doesn’t come photograph and video ready. The digital world has taken over every aspect of life. My phone has a camera but other than a couple pictures taken just playing around with it when I first got it, I haven’t used it. I still use a very obsolete Kodak Easy Share 4.0 Megapixel camera. Yeah, I know. So last century. It still works for me. Pictures are only taken for letters and blogs. Yes, I actually still write letters to pen pals. I’m very ancient in some ways.

    Have a great Instagram day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never been able to get a photo of fall colors that came out looking like the real thing. The filter on the camera eliminates glare, among other things. The second picture is actually closer to what I saw with my eyes than the first one. I used to use cameras around here. I liked having the pictures to look at back in my office. I would carry it in my pocket but after ruining about 4 of them I just quit doing it. You can’t do farm work with a camera with a retractable lens in your pocket without breaking it. The good thing about the camera on the phone is that it seems fairly difficult to hurt. At least so far.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Ah, ha. So that’s how some people are getting that effect. I’ve never been on Instagram, and I’m not really sure even what it is, let alone how it works. Of course, I don’t have a phone that takes pictures or connects to the web, either, so I guess I’m probably not in their demographic.

    On the other hand, the pics do look nice. I especially like that last one. It’s got a great feel to it.

    This is totally unrelated, but I’ll add it anyhow. I saw your tweet about natural remedies. This is an unsolicited testimonial for pure cherry juice (either tart or dark) as an anti-inflammatory. I suddenly was stricken with a really bad case of arthritis in my hands: swollen joints, numbness, wake-up-in-the-night levels of pain — the whole thing. To make a long story short, I remembered hearing about using cherry juice rather than ibuprofen and etc., and I gave it a try.

    I started with a cup morning and night. After three days, my joints were half the size and the pain was gone, save an occasional twinge. I reduced the “dose” to the recommended half-cup morning and night, and it was great. Just in the spirit of scientific inquiry, after two good weeks, I stopped the juice. Four days later, I had pain, swollen joints, etc. I drank the juice again, and it all went away.

    It’s only for symptom relief, but for me? It’s been a life-saver, with none of the side effects possible from long-term use of OTC anti-inflammatories. The only thing is, be sure and buy pure cherry juice, not a cherry drink with added sugar. I didn’t know, prior to all this, that sugar’s an inflammatory. Oh, woe. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My daughter showed me instagram a couple of years ago. Evidently it is popular with the younger folks, now that we old people have taken over facebook. There are lots of filter options and I’m sure folks who know a lot about photography (like my daughter) would know which ones make sense for particular shots and conditions. I just chose one more or less at random when I started using it and I always use that one or none at all.

      Speaking of twitter, neither Cherie nor I understand it or use it. She linked twitter to our facebook page, so that our farm’s once a day facebook post also goes out on twitter. That’s the full extent of our tweeting.

      I have a smartphone but it doesn’t cost me anything. I got the model that was a couple of generations old, so it was “free” with the service contract. My old law firm lets me stay on their service contract so it doesn’t cost me anything. I get the camera, GPS (which we use when travelling), dictaphone (which i use for notetaking), weather bulletins, internet, calculator, calendar and of course a phone, all for no cost. There are about a zillion other things that can be done with the phone but I haven’t bothered trying to learn them.

      Thanks for the great info about cherry juice. We’ll share that at our gathering. We went to a similar gathering of homesteaders and natural farmers in another county Saturday and they shared lots of interesting natural and home remedies. Taking care of ourselves with food and herbs is rapidly becoming a lost art.

      Like

  3. valbjerke says:

    Those pictures are print worthy – have you ever considered uploading farm pics to Kodak and having them made into calendars? We do that every few years – seems we can never make enough. We give them to our good customers, and family, and friends we see infrequently – a way of keeping in touch. 😊

    Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    universes / parallel op- / -portunities

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Can there be more than one universe? If what we call our universe is actually just one part of a multiverse, then arguably it doesn’t deserve the “uni.” Maybe it needs a new name.

      Like

  5. Those filters make for beautiful photos! It’s almost like they’re paintings! 🙂 ❤

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I especially like the way the sky came out in the bottom one. The filter must accent the colors or the contrasts. They give the photos a vividness that doesn’t come out in ordinary photos. I agree that they do look like paintings. 🙂

      Like

  6. So lovely photos!!! 🙂

    Like

  7. And to think we were all wowed just a few decades ago by the difference between black and white and colour. People used to ooh and ahh (some artists still do) over the way black and white photography allowed the photographer to play up light or dark in a photo, making us see what is there but what we normally don’t see. Consider Ansel Adams. We’re seeing a lot of photos on the web these days that have been treated with the filters such as you’ve used above. It’s fun, it’s easy, and it makes an artist of those of us who feel a little challenged in that area.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Someone commented that the bottom one reminded them of Ansel Adams. Your last sentence nails it for me.

      Your comment about color vs. black and white reminds me of how excited we were when we first got a color TV. It was so neat to see the NBC peacock or see the intro to Bewitched when the animated Samantha rode her broom across the screen and changed the screen to color. Yes, that’s how old I am. 🙂

      Like

  8. And I was referring to me with that word “challenged”, not you!

    Like

  9. Photographers have always used whatever tools were available to improve their photos, Bill. Now it is just a lot easier. Ansel Adams would work away in his dark room for days, trying to get his photos just right. Taking the picture was only the beginning. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve had the ability to do some of that for a while now, with things like Photoshop or Picassa, but I never took the time to learn it. Instagram makes it very easy, while still leaving lots of room for creativity. I have a friend who is a photographer/artist and he produces some amazing stuff on instagram.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. EllaDee says:

    I prefer Instagram sharing, at least that of the people I follow to Facebook. It’s a nice visual insight into other’s lives 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I still don’t look at it much. We don’t have very good service out here and often the pictures won’t load for me. But I’ve heard from several people that it is their preferred form of social media. Some of the people I follow produce great art with it.

      Like

  11. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    I’m glad you shared this. I was thinking about using Instagram, because I have so many photos but don’t know what to do with them.

    Beautiful!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You should try it and see if you like it! I don’t post there very often, just because I’ve never gotten used to it. But I know there are folks who enjoy following our farm on it and it is a good and easy way to share photos with people.

      Like

  12. pattisj says:

    I recently started posting on Instagram (on vacation) and hope to make a regular habit of it. I found your link, thanks for sharing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

