White Flint Pork

This is a good place to be a pig.

Our pigs live on pasture rather than in cages.  We supplement their natural foraging with chemical-free vegetables from our gardens and a GMO-free, soy-free feed.

Gracie likes to have her head scratched.

They are never given any antibiotics or growth hormones.

I don’t see how it would be possible to raise pigs any better than we raise ours.

IMG_4381

Most of the pork sold in grocery stores is contaminated with antibiotic resistant bacteria and much of it still has traces of porcine growth hormones.  I honestly believe it is not fit for human consumption.  And it comes from pigs who led miserable lives.  Buying it makes us complicit in the cruelty of the factory farms and incents them to continue to abuse pigs.

Next week we will have White Flint Farm pork available.  Whether you buy your pork from us or not, I hope you’ll seek out farms that share our ethic.  Not only will you be doing the right thing for your health and for the pigs, you’ll end up with the best-tasting pork you’ve ever had.

17 comments on “White Flint Pork

  1. shoreacres says:

    I don’t think there’s a critter in the world that doesn’t like to have its head and ears scratched. Even a certain cockatiel I knew used to come over and beg to have its head rubbed. Cockatiels can’t smile like your pigs do, but he’d burble and cheep very nicely.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Most of the pigs like a head scratching, but we have one who doesn’t. She squeals and runs away whenever I touch her. It’s just her personality.

      And I can’t blame her. I don’t think I’d want her scratching my head either. 🙂

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m glad there are still pigs raised like yours. Our pigs always had pasture to run around and get exercise. I don’t remember Dad ever vaccinating them and they lived the life of ease. We milked 13 cows and separated the cream from the milk to sell at the creamery along with the eggs from the small flock of chickens. I haven’t seen a creamery for many decades. I don’t know if they are even in existence any more. Anyway, our pigs got all the skim milk to slurp up and a few shovels of ear corn to munch on every day. Those pigs absolutely exploded with growth and got top dollar at the stock yards. I believe there were about 30 pigs one year and they paid for my college that year. After I left for college Dad only had sheep to keep the pasture from getting out of hand and no milk cows. Mom and Dad ended up selling the farm and moving to Las Vegas. 😦 I have wondered where I would be today if I’d taken the opportunity to take over the farm when they offered it to me. One can only hope that the right decisions are made along the course of a life time.

    Have a great pig goodbye day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If we had a milk cow I’d definitely give some milk to the pigs (and chickens). They also like whey. We have friends who make cheese from their goats milk and feed the whey to their pigs.

      There aren’t many people still raising pigs the way y’all did though. That’s a shame in my opinion.

      Sometimes I wonder how my life would have been different had I stayed here rather than move to Florida to practice law. But then I realize that if I had done that I never would have met my wife and we wouldn’t have had our children. So I have no regrets. We have some control over our future, but none over our past.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    This really isn’t relevant to your post, but since pork butts could be part of the conversation, I guess maybe there’s a thin thread of connection. I’m still laughing at this one. The best stories always are true.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hadn’t heard that before. It’s funny. But it usually makes sense to settle lawsuits rather than try them, and that’s always the client’s decision, not the lawyers’. They didn’t settle the case because “lawyers are wimps.”

      Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    Not fit for human consumption but deemed legally so… and morally so, if no-one thinks about it too much… Anywaaay, I’m pleased you and your pigs are happy with your lot, and that farming is about pleasure, and quality product and integrity, not just for profit, which makes White Flint Farm just the kind of rebel and hero the world needs 🙂

    Like

  5. Those pigs look fabulous, Bill – great condition, and happiness and contentment shining through the photo. Excellent pork coming for some lucky customers!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. We’ve been real pleased with this group. We took 2 of them to the processor. I’m guessing they weighed about 275 lbs. We’re going to let the other 3 get to 400+ and use them for whole-hog sausage.

      Like

  6. Every pig should have a life like this. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  7. Those are happy pigs indeed. We just finalized our custom butcher order will be picking up our pastured Tamworth pork in 2 weeks. I can hardly wait!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We got the call today that ours will be ready to pick up on Wednesday. I’m looking forward to it (along with a lot of our customers). The last two years we’ve raised Tamworth-Berkshire crosses and I’ve been very happy with them. Great pigs.

      Like

  8. farmerkhaiti says:

    beautiful piggies, I just love the one talking to you. We’re keeping 4 of ours over winter for sausage-making next spring too. Seeing pigs live a full and exuberant life that fits their personalities is so rewarding, and people who get it really GET it when it comes to the difference quality of life makes in the final product. Our customers come back every year. Every happy pig raised by folks like us is one less being eaten from a factory farm.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Every happy pig raised by folks like us is one less being eaten from a factory farm. That is very well put! I may have to borrow it. 🙂

      We sold out quickly last year and I expect we will again this year. The quality is incomparable to the tortured grocery store pigs. I tell people in all sincerity that if that is their only option then they should quit eating pork.

      We won’t be keeping ours over the winter. I’m hoping to have them to full weight by mid-December. Whole hog pasture-raised sausage just can’t be beat!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

