Thinning the Arugula

The arugula I planted in the spring was a fail.  Most of what I planted never came up and the seeds that did germinate didn’t grow well.

So for our fall planting I tried sowing the seeds more thickly, in case we had poor germination again.  This time I think every seed I planted must have come up.

IMG_4247

So I’ve spent a lot of time thinning it out.

Before and after thinning.

Before and after thinning.

The benefit of that is having lots of baby arugula to eat.

IMG_4249

It’s so good that I may plant it this way intentionally from now on.

18 comments on “Thinning the Arugula

  1. Joanna says:

    Isn’t that always the way 😀

    Like

  2. I say each year that I will plant Arugula but have not yet. I like the taste very much. Yours looks quite healthy.

    Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    In 1950’s for small seeds like turnips and radishes we used to mix into crushed limestone in a metal (zinc coated) bucket and then “sow” that – so the seeds would fall more dispersed (in theory). Of course those were not planted in rows.

    Like

    • bobraxton says:

      event ‪#‎Sewanee‬ on Nov.11. Come and take part in discussions, presentations and group design centered around a more spirit-honoring food system, featuring a presentation by Dr. Norman Wirzba and a panel discussion on “Sowing, Growing, Feeding & Composting.”
      Also, Dr. Wirzba’s public lecture on Nov. 10 at The School of Theology at The University of the South.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      We used to mix the seed with sand. I have a neighbor who mixes it with fertilizer. I’m crummy at broadcasting, which is one of the reasons I switched to rows. But my broadcast kale looks great this year.

      Like

  4. Baby greens probably sell better here than regular full leaf lettuce, at least in the fall and spring. But I agree with Joanna, ain’t that always the way.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We’re taking lots of baby greens to market tomorrow–bok choy, arugula, mustard greens, komatsuna, tatsoi and kale. Hoping I didn’t spend all day picking and washing it for nothing. 🙂

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’m just sure there’s a way to transform “Bringing in the Sheaves” into “Thinning Out the Greens.” I’ll have to work on that. 🙂

    Like

  6. avwalters says:

    I love the yield of that kind of garden maintenance.

    Like

  7. reneeliamrhys says:

    Over here in Australia we call this Rocket and indeed nothing beats fresh from the garden.
    Alexa blogging from Sydney, Australia
    Alexa-asimplelife.com

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think Rocket is the name it’s given in the rest of the English-speaking world. “Arugula” stuck here supposedly as a misspelling or mispronunciation of the Italian word. Whatever it’s called, it’s good eating!

      Like

Leave a Reply

