Radishes

IMG_4196

We’ve got a great crop of radishes this fall, including this strange one.

IMG_4202

Radishes grow easily and fast.  We’ve been enjoying them raw and pickled (my favorite),and Cherie has used them to make slaw and she has used the greens to make pesto.  But we still have a lot more radishes than we have uses for radishes.

Any suggestions or recipes would be welcome.  🙂

21 comments on “Radishes

  1. shoreacres says:

    I really wish I liked radishes. They’re so pretty, and look like they ought to taste good, but years of trying just hasn’t helped. Maybe I should try them pickled.

    I have a Vietnamese friend who grows radishes to use in dishes. I’ll see if she has any creative uses for them you might enjoy.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They grow so easily and so prolifically that it’s a shame there aren’t more ways to eat them. Pickled radishes are really good. You’d probably like them. We’re growing some daikon radishes this year too but they’re not ready yet.

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    There was a recipe created by Sophie Grigson on the BBC a few years ago, but since been taken down and it has the following in it

    9 oz radishes, trimmed, cut into 1/4″ thick slices
    1/2 lemon, zest and juice only
    1/2 orange, zest and juice only
    2 tbsp granulated or caster sugar
    1 oz butter
    salt and freshly ground black pepper
    water, to cover

    Method:

    1. Place all the ingredients in a wide, shallow pan along with enough water to almost cover the ingredients.

    2. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer gently for about 30 minutes, stirring from time to time, until all the liquid has reduced down to a few tablespoons of rich, buttery syrup and the radishes are very tender. Serve warm (it reheats beautifully). (I found it again on http://archive.constantcontact.com/fs011/1102176322194/archive/1105614663845.html)

    When I cooked it I added grapefruit instead of orange, because the local supermarket didn’t have oranges (we live way out of the city) and I added peas to the mix. It was rather nice. There’s a picture of the dish on my blog http://thejourneytosomewhere.blogspot.com/2010/07/surprising-finds.html – just scroll down.

    Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    be right over. I love radishes. I think grocery store “bunch” is $1.69

    Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I really should plant more radishes than I do. One crop in the spring to get that first harvest quick is just not enough. Usually by the time the first crop of radishes are eaten the weather has warmed up and many other things in the garden need attention so the radishes just don’t get planted. This year it was such a muddy mess in the garden all through June that I didn’t really plant any thing and by July the weeds were totally out of control and the month was mostly dedicated to weed eradication. September was rain again and now October is putting the garden into hibernation. With all good intentions, I will plant more radishes next year. 🙂

    Have a great radish eating day.

    Like

  5. Leslie says:

    Radishes are usually available, as “organically” grown in my local stores, so I would love recipes. I have been too lazy to look up uses for the greens. Thanks Bill, as always for sharing.

    Like

  6. avwalters says:

    I think I’ll try that recipe–thanks.

    Like

  7. I never know what to do with radishes – I’ve seen more ideas here than in my entire life before. Pesto? Aren’t the leaves kind of fuzzy/prickly? I’ve had some white radishes from the farm market that the grower advised me to use in stir fries (a Japanese variety I was told), and they were pretty good that way. Certainly didn’t work with my normal red ones though.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The pesto was very nice. I don’t think the leaves are particularly prickly but it may vary with varieties. The white oriental radish might have been a daikon radish. We’re growing some of them this year too but they’re still a couple of weeks from being finished. The deer have been eating them though so I’m not sure any will be left by the time they’re ready to harvest.

      Like

  8. Zambian Lady says:

    Radishes are not my traditional vegetable, so the sharp taste that seemed to go right through my nose was a bit too much for me. A friend of mine loves that kick, but I have failed to adapt. Enjoy your bounty 🙂

    Like

  9. They look good, Bill, almost pretty. So how hot are they? –Curt

    Like

  10. We make pesto with the radish greens as well – even the fuzzy, prickly ones. Actually, we make pesto with just about every green we happen to have extra of. My two favorites are cilantro (with lemon and green olives – not the pimento stuffed ones though) and arugula. Also good to mix a little pesto in with mayo to add a little zip to your sandwich or burger or just smear on top of grilled fish, toss with fresh greens, etc…
    As to the radishes themselves – we just eat them in every salad imaginable or just snack on them. Our grocer sells local, organic radishes for $4 a bunch – can you believe that?!?!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Interesting. We haven’t made pesto with those. Sounds yummy.

      It seems that our radish price is way too low. But there isn’t a great demand for them, so I reckon we’ll just keep letting our customers have a bargain. 🙂

      Like

  11. […] (tie) Radishes. A short post about the humble […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

