Home Grown

Thinking back over yesterday’s meals, for breakfast I had a couple of eggs scrambled with banana peppers, bell peppers and onions.  For lunch I had Red Red Stew (purple hull peas are the primary ingredient) and watermelon. For supper I had chicken, spaghetti squash with English peas, and Texas caviar.  So almost all the food I ate yesterday was grown or raised here on this farm.

That’s fairly typical.  It’s very rare for us to have a meal that isn’t substantially based on things grown here.  That is not to say that everything we eat comes from the from.  Yesterday I also had rice and bread, and we didn’t grow the rice or the wheat.  But still, I’d wager that fewer than 1% of the people in our culture produce substantially all their own food.  In fact, I’m pretty confident that even among farmers (who now comprise less than 1% of our population), most don’t produce a majority of the food they eat.  So we are among a tiny minority of people in this culture who grow most of what they eat.

I realize of course that for most people being self-reliant for food isn’t an option.  But while it is true that most people can’t produce most of their food, almost everyone can produce at least some of their own food.

As I’ve often written on this blog, food that is fresh from the garden is tastier and more nutritious that food that isn’t.  And whole natural foods do our bodies good, while processed foods sicken and kill us.  But even leaving aside those obvious reasons to grow your own food, I get a nice sense of satisfaction from knowing I raised the food on my plate.  I’m pretty sure nearly everyone would.

10 comments on “Home Grown

  1. Joanna says:

    I know that feeling and it sure feels good

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I can remember when I was growing up thinking that store-bought food was a treat. Now I avoid it as much as possible. I’d be happy if we grew 100% of the food we eat.

      Like

  2. pattisj says:

    I imagine there is great satisfaction in that. My dad grew most everything we ate.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m sure there are some folks who get satisfaction from having other people grow their food for them. But my guess is that most people who find satisfaction in growing something, even if it is just a tomato plant or a fruit tree. We’re probably wired to want to participate in our food production.

      Like

  3. EllaDee says:

    While some people dream of haute or fine dining cuisine, I too dream of home grown home cooked. Your food day sounds wonderful 🙂

    Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, the video clip from yesterday’s post about the bud nip spray on potatoes was precious with the little girls commentary. Back when Mom sprouted sweet potatoes for house plant vines, it must have been before Bud Nip was invented. As a general rule all food was better in the grocery store 50 years ago.

    We have had many discussions about the food supply system and how unsustainable it is so I won’t go into that again. Every year as the harvest begins coming in, I marvel at just how much different the home grown vegetables taste. I’m in the process of harvest my small potato patch. I cooked up a pot of potatoes in the normal fashion and with just a little bit of butter and a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash, they are heavenly. Even though it was a lousy year for tomatoes, the ones that I did harvest are no comparison to those in the grocery store. Just for flavor alone, it’s worth the effort to grow even a small garden of vegetables. Let’s not forget what vegetables are supposed to taste like.

    Have a great home grown food tasting day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As we advocate for a wiser food economy I often rattle off a list of reasons for it: better health, more nutritious food, friendlier to the environment, better treatment of animals, resilient local economies, etc. But at the end I always say that if none of those reasons matter to you, it’s a way to get food that tastes like it did at your Grandmother’s house when you were a child. That last reason is plenty reason enough.

      Like

  5. Zambian Lady says:

    I have a couple of small holdings back home which I bought for fresh air since I lived in the city. I had not had any intention of cultivating either properties. However, I now wish I could have a house with a garden here in Austria so that I could produce some of my own food, but we will see. Isn’t it interesting that we don’t care for what we have and long for what we don’t have? My parents produce most of their food and I envy them as I am now envying you…. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I know exactly what you mean. When I was a boy I envied the city kids who didn’t have to work in the garden and got to eat food that came from a store. 🙂
      I hope you get your garden. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

