Breakfast at the Farmer’s Market

Six days a week I have a wholesome breakfast of food entirely from the farm.

I don’t have an appetite until I’ve been awake a while, so on Saturdays we leave for the market before I’ve eaten.  I have an enjoyable breakfast there, but it’s certainly not the kind of diet I recommend for every day.

Yesterday I started with a fried sweet potato pie from the Malones.

Mr. Malone

Mr. Malone

Shut my mouth.

Shut my mouth.

Next up was an amazing cinnamon bun from the Shreib family.

I'm an

I’m annoyed that this isn’t in focus.  I hadn’t had my coffee yet.

I didn't remember to take the picture until after I'd already started eating.

I didn’t remember to take the picture until after I’d already started eating.

And I washed it all down with a large cup of freshly ground and brewed Ethiopian coffee from Sam and Mina.

Providers of the awesome coffee that keeps me going on market day.

Providers of the awesome coffee that keeps me going on market day.

I usually only drink one cup of coffee in the morning.  But on Saturdays I have one at home, then one for the road, then a cup of their coffee at the market.

Starting every day with a fried sweet potato pie, a cinnamon bun and 3 cups of coffee would not be a good idea.  But I don’t think it will hurt me much to do it once a week.

This morning I’ll return to eggs, potatoes, cantaloupe, and a single cup of coffee.

But come next Saturday it will be another Farmers Market breakfast for me.

18 comments on “Breakfast at the Farmer’s Market

  1. I love having breakfast at the farmer’s market. One of the markets I go to has live music, too … a single person or sometimes a duo … such a good way to experience a sense of community … love the photos of the people you see there … they all look so happy … 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our market doesn’t have music but I’ve heard of others that do. I like our market but I wish it had some things that would cause people to want to come and spend their mornings there, such as live music.

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, fried sweet potato pie, my oh my. I’ve had regular sweet potato pie but never a fried one. It sounds delicious. I too have limited myself to one cup of coffee a day or my stomach will start giving me some heart burn. I guess it’s the acid in the coffee. Carbonated drinks will do the same if I over do it. How late in the season does the farmer’s market continue to sell? I harvested two eggplant yesterday which is pretty much the end of the season for everything here. Even the roadside stands are starting to pack it in for the year. Only a few are hanging on with pumpkins, gourds, and dried cornstalks for Halloween decorations. Now comes the massive cleanup from the totally neglected garden beds. I’m not sure just how much I’ll be able to get done with the way the weather has been acting. Night temperatures are already 20 degrees below normal and day temperatures are November temperatures.

    Have a great Saturday farmer’s market day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been unseasonably cool here today. Just came in from our evening walk and it feels more like late fall outside than late summer. It’s been an odd year weatherwise.

      Our market goes till the end of October, I think. But it’s slowing down now since the summer veggies bring in a bigger crowd than the fall veggies do.

      Like

  3. avwalters says:

    Makes my oatmeal pale by comparison (even with the apples, cherries and raisins.)

    Like

  4. Jeff says:

    I’m not sure eggs every day are a great idea, either. What’s your total cholesterol level? I had eggs every day for two weeks and then went for my physical two weeks later. My total cholesterol was 270. My doctor was very, very unhappy. I rarely eat eggs these days and limit my meat intake to less than 1/2 pound per week. And refined sugar? Not. Honey and fruit sugars are O.K., but refined white sugar is poison.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There’s plenty of controversy over the health effects of eating eggs. Folks definitely need to be mindful of their particular health issues in choosing their diets. For some a healthy diet including eggs won’t be a problem, while for others it might. Good point.

      Like

  5. I don’t get to eat at the market too often these days (I work Saturdays, the local market day), but got up there a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed a pumpkin ginger scone (real ginger, real pumpkin) with a cup of locally roasted coffee – my first of two on a work day. My teenager likes to get a breakfast bun – ham, egg, cheese on an English muffin. Hubby had a blackberry cinnamon bun the day I had my pumpkin ginger scone. All of these are treat foods for us – normal breakfast is toast or oatmeal, bacon once or twice a week, eggs a couple of times a week The eggs and bacon come from the farm, the bread and oatmeal are made from scratch. We’re not perfect though – the highschooler among us has been known to whip out the door, late for school, with a Clif bar in hand. Canadians, at least here, don’t deep fry very many foods – we have the ubiquitous French fry of course, and various kinds of deep fried seafood (cod, halibut, prawns, calamari), and also KFC (not too many people deep fry chicken at home) but that’s about it. Sweet potatoes are also not much used here – we get yam fries in restaurants, and you can buy them frozen (I know yams are not sweet potatoes, but it’s as close as we get), but otherwise, they’re not a familiar food to many people here. So if I were to visit your market, fried sweet potato pie would be top of my list to try!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love sweet potato pie. I rarely eat sweets, as I don’t really have much of a sweet tooth. But I do enjoy an occasional sweet potato pie. The one I had Saturday though is probably the first one I’ve had in nearly a year. It’s a rare treat. I usually start my morning with a couple of buttered biscuits from the Malones but they didn’t have any, so I settled for the pie. 🙂

      Like

  6. You’ve

    The Shreibs, the Freys, the Amish, the Mennonites… Bill, that’s where I come from, the stuff I’m made of. Bonnets and black clothes and 1 dozen kids. Quick smiles and 24/7 labor. Hellfire preaching. Be ye therefore ready. Men on this side women on that. A kindness gene mostly. Zero books but look at us buid barns and gather on Sunday afternoons. And that’s us ice skating in mass and all of us wet from baptism, age 11 or so. With that you’re in, without that you’re out.

    Like

  7. Mmmm, sweet potato pie. I am such a fan of sweet potatoes. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    One of our farmers’ markets has some lovely women from Ecuador and Columbia who make empanadas – much like your fried pie. My favorite breakfast is two empanadas — why lie? three — and I always get the same. Spinach and cheese, ground beef, olive and egg, and a sweet one to finish out. They do pumpkin (also very popular with Mexicans here) as well as peach, apricot, etc.

    I love the photo of the Schreib family. If I was there, I’d buy breakfast from them.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I used to get empanadas from street vendors in Tampa. You’re fortunate to have them. None around here.

      The Schreibs are great folks. And her bread is amazingly good. She uses mashed potatoes as an ingredient.

      Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    Wonderful photos of your breakfast fare and providers 🙂 Fortunately the G.O. and I ventured out to a farmer’s market for Sunday breakfast yesterday, having missed the usual Saturday market where I usually eat brunch and buy cinnamon scrolls (sugar dusted rather than iced) to go. If we hadn’t, reading this post would make me feel bereft indeed, along with hungry. I love the variety – there are multicultural, meat, vegan, vegetarian offerings… None of it expensive and all better, in our opinion, that local cafe food.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That sounds great. I wish we had a better variety of options at our market. It’s hard to find anything that is read to eat and isn’t sweet. But, as you can see, we do have some great food to choose from.

      Like

Leave a Reply

