Summer Winding Down

You probably wouldn’t know if from reading my blog, but we’ve had great production from the gardens this year. Yes, the rain split a lot of tomatoes, but we still harvested plenty.  Yes, the deer wiped out our okra, but after plowing it in we planted green beans and they’re producing beautifully.  Yes, the deer took bites out of some of our butternut squash, but most were spared and we’ll keep for ourselves the ones with deer teeth prints in them.   Nature is resilient, and so were our gardens this year.

After a rough start, our cantaloupe garden did very well.  But I didn’t time the harvest perfectly (a difficult task when you let them ripen full slip) and lots of them split or went soft.  Such little imperfections don’t affect the taste of the melon at all, but our exacting quality control supervisor (Cherie) won’t allow any of them to go to the market.  So we’ve been eating lots of cantaloupes lately.  As have the other cantaloupe-loving residents of White Flint Farm.

IMG_3560

I’m nearly finished planting the fall gardens.  Our purple hull peas are starting to come in now–the last of our summer crops to arrive.  Over the next two months the summer goodies will finish fading away and, if all goes well, we’ll be awash in the taste of fall.

And so nature’s wonderful cycle continues.

24 comments on “Summer Winding Down

  1. Here’s to living always in nature’s wonderful cycle.

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, The summer season is indeed winding down. The garden cleanup will begin in about three weeks. It doesn’t seem possible that could be true but this summer has passed quickly. There’s still much to do in the next couple months and, as always, I probably won’t get it all done. I have a couple project sthat must be finished before the snow flies. With a record breaking 49 degrees predicted for a low here, snow might not be too far away.

    I’m glad to hear that your harvest turned out great even with the pesky deer troubles and the over abundance of rain at planting time. Some how things seem to work out if we just trust God with our provision.

    I must finish up the laundry room plumbing drain today. I have all the parts ready and just need to replace them. It should be an easy fix. Yeah, when does that ever happen on an old house. 🙂

    Have a great winding down summer day in the garden.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I get seeing predictions of another very cold winter. Or course I wouldn’t be surprised if just the opposite occurs. I’m hoping it’s mild enough to keep our gardens going through it.

      Hoping your fix went well.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Shows what I know about chickens. I never would have imagined them enjoying cantaloupe. I am glad things righted themselves as the season went along. It seems like everyone has frustrations. One of my neighbors has a little pot of cherry tomatoes on her balcony. She walked out a couple of days ago and found a squirrel with a tiny tomato in its paws, munching away. I guess another name for vegetable garden is “critter magnet.”

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Chickens will eat just about anything. Including each other.

      I’ve never had much trouble from squirrels, but I had who friend who couldn’t keep them from eating his tomatoes every year. Last week I saw one munching on a mushroom. Hope they don’t discover and develop a taste for our shiitakes.

      Like

    • nebraskadave says:

      Shoreacres, I call my garden the wild life buffet. 🙂

      Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    beautiful stories

    Like

  5. Gwen Wells says:

    I love your blog. 🙂 And purple hull peas. I’ll be ordering a pound or two as soon as you say I can.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Gwen. I’m a big fan of purple hulls too. We have a few purple pods here and there. I’m guessing that they’ll be in full blast by Friday. Not sure about Wednesday. Either way we should have plenty of them for a while. 🙂

      Like

  6. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, I always know when I come to your postings that I’ll leave them with a sense of peace. A sense that, as Julian of Norwich said many centuries ago, “And all shall be well. And all shall be well. And all manner of things shall be exceedingly well.” Thank you for your belief in the renewal of earth.

    Like your chickens, I, too, love cantaloupes. I’ve had only one this summer and it was scrumptious! Peace.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Dee. That’s a beautiful quote. I can’t help but believe in the renewal of the earth (and all things). That truth is visibly displayed to me every day.

      Glad you had a good cantaloupe and hope you’ll have another one or two before the end of the season. 🙂

      Like

  7. In my brief sojourn as a chicken farmer this summer, Bill, I also discovered that chickens love watermelon. –Curt

    Like

  8. bobraxton says:

    in NC I really like crouder peas, pink eyes, butter peas – all sorts.

    Like

  9. pattisj says:

    It sounds like a good gardening year, overall. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s had some rough spots. Our spring brassicas were nearly a total fail, for example. But overall it has been very good. For example, even as our brassicas failed, we had our best spring lettuce crop ever. It’s been that way with everything this year. No complaints.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. EllaDee says:

    On Saturday at the farmers market, I had the choice between perfect or seconds of avocados… I chose the seconds which the growers tell me they also eat, rather than the saleable. My only criteria is quality as pertains to eating and taste… I’m not a food stylist or photographer 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A wise move by you. We eat almost exclusively culls and seconds this time of year and we eat like royalty. Tonight we had a tomato salad (made from culls), culled green beans and acorn squash (culled) stuffed with shiitake mushrooms (culled). A super delicious meal made entirely of things we couldn’t sell at market.

      Like

Leave a Reply

