Ginny

Back when living in the country was a dream, it was a dream that included a farm dog. And not just any farm dog. I wanted a black lab. A big goofy slobbering male that I intended to name Joey.

Not long after we made the move my Grandpa’s lab Lady had a litter of puppies. All black and all but one male. He wanted us to have one of the puppies and I was excited about finally having the farm dog I’d imagined for so long.

Our daughter Peyton picked out the puppy, and I have to confess I was terribly disappointed that she chose the lone female of the litter.

Eleven years ago

Eleven years ago

Little did I know then that the puppy she selected would turn out to be the best dog of all time. We named her Ginny.

Peyton (and later Cherie) spent lots of time training Ginny. I’d never known a dog could be so intelligent. Ginny loved learning and soon obeyed dozens of commands. But best of all she was loyal, fiercely protective, joyful and loving.

Ginny is old and gray now. She still has all of her great qualities though, and would still chase off a coyote if necessary.

She’s been ill the past few weeks and that’s been upsetting around here. She has some sort of stomach ailment and while she’s showing some signs of improvement, we continue to worry about her. Cherie has spent a lot of time and effort trying to figure out what the problem is and to help her get over it.

Ginny has recovered from some very serious injuries during her sometimes tumultuous life. Hopefully she’s on the mend from this thing too and will be back to normal soon.

The best dog ever

The best dog ever

22 comments on “Ginny

  1. Prayers for sweet Ginny … our doggies are such special beings …

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, a homestead is just not a homestead without a dog. Ginny seems to have fit right into that role perfectly. Like people dogs grow old in their bodies but in their minds they are still young. Prayers for a quick recovery and a long life of activity for Ginny are heading your way. Yea, keep those coyotes away. Not that they damage the garden but they sure like chicken.

    Have a great Ginny recovering day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Ginny is gentle and can even be timid at times. But she’s ferocious in defense of this place. We’ve seen her chase off a much larger coyote that was prowling around the chicken coop.

      Like

  3. jubilare says:

    She’s beautiful. I do love a dark dog with a salted muzzle. May she soon recover.

    Like

  4. I like to think we all have in our lives the “best dog ever.”

    Like

  5. bobraxton says:

    “old and gray” is not “just for men”

    Like

  6. A smile and a tear. Here’s to Ginny. –Curt

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I hope she’s on the mend, and that recovery comes sooner rather than later. I had to smile at your tale — you did get your Joey, too.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When Peyton said she wanted the female I didn’t give up hope. After all she was a child and I knew she adored all the puppies. So I had hope. Then my Grandpa came up, with a big smile on his face, and said something like, “So I hear Peyton wants the female.” At that point I knew it was over. And looking back on it I’m very happy about that.

      Yes, thanks for remembering our good dog Joey. Obviously I chose that name (but not his formal full name “Sir Joey Whiteflint”). He is fondly remembered.

      Like

  8. EllaDee says:

    The divine details of the process of matching up four-legged furry ones and their humans isn’t privy to the two-legged ones. We just have to believe, and so it is with your Ginny that she came to be part of your family. I wish her well, and many more good years 🙂

    Like

  9. avwalters says:

    Though not a dog person (allergic) I am sympathetic to Ginny’s plight. Weeks ago, our cat’s cat, Bob, ate something poisonous. We were distraught for days, as he made the long climb out of misery. He seems fine, now. We suffer the pains of our pets, maybe giving language to what they endure so stoically. I wish all the best for Ginny and her recovery.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. It’s been a little frustrating trying to figure out what’s wrong with her and what we can do to help her. We’re hoping that she’s on the mend now.

      Like

  10. I’m behind again on keeping up with your blog, so hope that Ginny is doing much better now. They are so faithful, trusting and stoic. I think that (and their innate innocence) is why it is so hard on us humans when they get sick.

    Like

  11. Farmgirl says:

    Get well soon, Ginny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

