Right away I am ready to do my breakfast…

In praising the quality of the comments on this blog a couple of days ago, I neglected to mention those whose wonderfully entertaining comments go unnoticed here.  Captured by the spam filter, some of the most interesting comments never get published.  There are too many of these gems for me to share them all, but it seems unfair for me to keep them all to myself.  So here are a sampling of a few that have come in over the past week.  I hope y’all enjoy them as much as I do.

“Xtreme No” offered this comment to my post about mushroom foraging:

Right away I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming again to redad additional news.

“How to Buy a Used Car,” having just discovered my post titled “Peanut Butter and Purple Hull Peas” responded to it with this, which made me blush:

I have been looking online for a bit more than 6 mins today, but I have not, as of yet, discovered a well laid out post that’s near yours. From what I’ve known, if only all site owners and bloggers wrote such amazing content as you currently do, the internet would be much more useful than before.

“Traitment Fissure” left this interesting response to my post “The Evils of Regionalism”:

I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. Nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. Unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

“Lista de email” was complimentary of my post “Women’s Work”:

Thanks for taking a time to help people with so great information, congratulations, your work is so dignifying.

“Red Bottom Shoes” also seems to appreciate the blog, commenting:

We’ve figured out numerous essential things by way of your own personal posting.

I hope sharing these comments won’t cause me to appear immodest.

13 comments on “Right away I am ready to do my breakfast…

  1. Jeff says:

    Perhaps one of your tech-savvy readers will enlighten us all as to the purpose of these comments. Why are they made? To boost the author’s site in Google search results? To annoy people? To hope that some ill-informed blog owner will click on the URL for the spam comment and open her/himself up to a data harvesting/malware attack? Why??

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m pretty sure that for the most part they’re just efforts to lure bloggers to their sites to try to sell them something (shoes, sunglasses, etc.). But because of the chance of picking up a virus I’ve never actually clicked on any of the links.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m rolling with laughter, not only because of the predictable humor of these things, but also because one of your friends is one of mine. Red Bottom Shoes must have been making the rounds this week!

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I frequent blogs that don’t have a good filter such as yours and have seen these gibberish comments before. I’m not sure what their purpose is either but humor turns to annoyance rather quickly when they start stacking up. So far I haven’t been bothered by these comments but then I don’t have nearly the traffic on my blog as you do. It seems they hit the high traffic bloggers.

    Have a great humorous spam comments day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The spam filter on this blog does a good job. Years ago I didn’t have a spam filter and 80% of the comments were nonsense like this. Every now and then I’ll go over to see the spam comments and they’re always amusing. But it wouldn’t be so funny if they were cluttering up the site every day.

      Like

  4. I get them too. I think they are partly the result of Google Translator, the phrasing and vocabulary are certainly indicative. I too often wonder about the reason for commenting. Also, think of all the people who “like” a post almost as soon as it’s posted, but whose own blogs are completely different, as in they are mountain bikers or surfers or something. Maybe those aren’t even real blogs, they’re just fronts for some nefarious schemer whose scheme is just too deep for me to recognize…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve wondered if they were from random word generators, but they’re so close to being sensible that Google Translator makes more sense. I think they’re intended to lure us to their sites, where they’re selling things like Vegas show tickets, knock-off designer clothes, and mail-order pharmaceuticals.

      Like

  5. HaHaHaHaHa …. love this … your final comment … priceless. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I just don’t want to seem like I’m boasting, when drawing attention to comments that praise my blog’s “amazing content.” Notice that one of the comments says he/she had searched the web for “a bit more than 6 mins” without finding another post as well laid-out as mine. Makes me proud.

      Like

  6. avwalters says:

    It’s illuminating (and perhaps humiliating) that some of the most complimentary of commenters are frequently spam.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They must think that praise is more likely to lead the blogger over to their site. I wonder if the opposite approach would work better. Maybe if their comment was something like “This blog sucks and you are obviously an idiot” the blogger would be more likely to want to figure out who left the comment.

      Out of curiosity I just checked the spam filter and here’s the latest comment:

      Great beat ! I would llike to apprentiice while you amend your website,
      hhow could i subscribe for a blog weeb site? The account helped mme a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept.

      Like

Leave a Reply

