Happy Pigs

We have happy pigs on our farm.

It’s warmed up lately and yesterday I noticed that their wallows were going dry. ย So I filled one up for them and a muddy pig frolic broke out.

 

IMG_3568

IMG_3579

IMG_3582

IMG_3583

IMG_3584

IMG_3585

IMG_3586

IMG_3587

IMG_3588

IMG_3589

IMG_3590

IMG_3591

Pigs enjoying their pigness.

14 comments on “Happy Pigs

  1. Look at those sweet happy faces … we should all be so easily made joyful.

    Like

  2. Jeff says:

    The third one seems to be the odd fellow left out – all the fun is between the other two! Is there any difference between pigs wallowing in mud and humans using their ATVs and other off-road vehicles to ruin wetlands?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Absolutely. Pigs create wetlands when they make wallows. I helped out with this one because the one they made for themselves is too close to the foundation of the shed. But they are excellent at building small ponds, which then become a little ecosystem.

      Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’d say they were in hog heaven, don’t you think? Happy pigs make for great tasting bacon later. I think there is something to be said for the taste of stress free animals raised close to their natural way of living in the wild. We had an old mama sow that Dad acquired to sell feeder pigs. I was about 7 or 8 I suppose. My job before he came home was to hand pump water from the well and fill up two 55 gallon barrels of water that had been placed on a skid. When Dad got home he would drag the water barrels to the barn with a tractor and water the animals. Then when the barrels were light enough, he’d tip them over into the waller hole. In the spring of the year old Mama sow had 12 piglets but two died at birth. I’m not sure just how Mama pig got in her piglet way because I only remember one pig in the barn. She must have already been already bred when Dad bought her. In the fall Mama sow became pork chops, ham and bacon which was another experience for a young lad. I hope we all can be happy as a pig in a waller hole today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great waller hole pig watching day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We’ve had a wet summer so they haven’t needed much help from me. But as you know it’s important that they have wallows to help them keep cool. I love watching them play in it. Without a doubt they’re happy.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Pure pleasure, that. I was thinking about the bison wallows I saw last fall, and wondered what other animals wallow. Well, elephants do. And rinoceros. And wart hogs. Better you should enjoy your pigs — I’m not sure what the elephants and rinoceros would do to your gardens — let alone the wart hogs!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I would say we can’t have things like that around here, but the other day when I took some goats to the processor the guy ahead of me was picking up the water buffalo he’d had processed there. He’s raising water buffalo in North Carolina.

      Like

  5. Love these moments. It’s why we do it, right? Seeing the livestock in our care being happy. I don’t think there’s any anthropomorphic bias in saying those pigs are happy…
    And my pigs would have chewed up the hose by about the third photo…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Some hose-chewing did occur. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I got some even better shots of them wallowing today. I could turn this into a blog with nothing but photos of pigs eating and wallowing in mud. I love watching them.

      They’re at a good age now. Totally comfortable with me and a delight to be around. They’ve hit the growth spurt too. They’re about 175 lbs now and growing fast. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. associatedluke says:

    My sister has a ‘house pig.’ She’s allergic to most house pets but growing up we had dogs and cats. She wanted something like that and went pig. It has been awesome for her. What great personalities pigs have. I can see yours shine through! Great shots! Made my day.

    Like

  7. I’m catching up, so reading your pig posts in reverse. Great photos – they sure do look happy and I agree that meat from humanely raised animals is not only tastier but a whole heck of a lot healthier. But ding dang it – I am going to struggle with all that cuteness when we get our own pigs and it comes time to “harvest” them. (see? I can’t even say the “s” word!).

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That, and euthanizing animals, is by FAR the hardest part of this life. To be sustainable a farm requires livestock, and we give them the best life we possibly can. It is something you just have to come to peace with. But I hope I never lose that unsettling feeling that reminds me of how wonderful and precious life is and what it truly costs to put food on our plates.

      Like

Leave a Reply

