My Symphony

To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion; to be worthy, not respectable, and wealthy, not rich; to study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly; to listen to stars and birds, to babes and sages, with open heart; to bear all cheerfully, do all bravely, await occasions, hurry never. In a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common. This is to be my symphony.

William Henry Channing

13 comments on “My Symphony

  1. DM says:

    I agree! (Amen) šŸ˜‰ thanks Bill for the words of encouragement this morning. DM

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, wow, what a comment. How can anyone improve on that. I’m starting to get to that age of Ecclesiastes when reflections of how life has been over the years and decisions that were made good and bad come to mind. I don’t think anyone gets through life with out wishing they could do over certain parts. I’m hoping and praying that along my life’s journey that I made a difference in just a few family and friend’s lives. Paul, a new testament writer, says about himself that he is content whether he has plenty or is in need. The world would say a five year plan with goals along the way are needed to be successful in life. Life travels have taken me to places I never thought I would go and allowed me to do things I never even thought about doing. Being content doesn’t mean no plans are being made. I look at it as more of a ToDo list than goal oriented plan. My ToDo lists are open ended with no date of completion. The corporate technology repair world was very goal minded. It’s been an entire shift in thinking for me and I’m still a work in progress.

    Have a great symphonic day in the garden.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Dave. There are plenty of things that come along to throw us off course. I’ve had my life radically redirected a time or two, for the good. Other times I’ve steered it into the wrong direction. It’s a journey I think. It’s good to have good counsel along the way.

      Like

  3. Martha Caldwell-Young says:

    šŸ™‚ ā¤

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    Simplicity may well be the shortest distance between two points.

    Like

  5. Joanna says:

    I think I should have read your blog before I wrote mine. The words above are much more eloquent and uplifting than my response to those days when stuff just seems hard.

    Like

  6. It’s a lovely personal credo, or at the least, goal, and one well worth the attempt. Thanks for sharing it! šŸ™‚
    Kathryn

    Like

Leave a Reply

