Change Them Yourself

They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.

Andy Warhol, The Philosophy of Andy Warhol

9 comments on “Change Them Yourself

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, that what Andy says is basically true. In my experience as time travels along in our lives, small decisions are made every day which do change just a little something that might be quite unnoticeable for that particular day. As time goes on and on, the big picture at the end of a year or two years or 10 years has changed a lot. So it appears that time changes things. My first experience with this concept was when I married my first wife. I loved to go out to her parent’s farm and hunt with her older brothers or pitch hay in the barn or help with the farm chores. Along came Uncle Sam and selected me to go off to war. It was during the Vietnam conflict and it made my Mama so happy when she found out I would be sent to Germany for my commitment. So I spent my time in the war as a team clerk on a missile base in Germany. After being gone for two years, I was ready to come back to what I had left and enjoy the life I’d left behind. What a surprise it was to find that time had passed and things had changed. No more hunting in the woods because brothers had moved on and had jobs and girl friends. One didn’t even live at home any more. Talk was that my Father in law and Mother in law were going to sell the farm and move to Tennessee, which they did. The favorite wild blackberry patch was gone. It all didn’t happen in one big swoop but every day had just a little change.

    Have a great changing day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Someone once said nothing is constant except change. Or something like that. For better or worse things are always going to change. I like this quote because he’s pointing to the fact that it isn’t time that changes things, but people acting. Instead of passively waiting for change, we should actively cause it. In the case of things that should be preserved, instead of passively accepting change, we should act to prevent them.

      Change is especially noticeable, and disconcerting, when we return to a place of pleasant memories after a long time away. It’s happened to me too.

      Like

  2. Which do you suppose is more difficult: changing others or changing ourselves? Which pride is more hardheaded? How many changes is it that makes completion?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As Tolstoy put it, “Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.”

      I’m not sure it is possible to change others. We might influence them to change themselves. But it seems to me that we should first make the changes in ourselves that we want to see in others. That’s probably enough work for a lifetime.

      Like

  3. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, I think change always starts with one person who decides to explore an option. That takes courage. Then the one touches the lives of others and more change takes place. And I think that when we think/feel that someone else needs to change we need to look first within ourselves to discover why we are annoyed or disgruntled or dismayed by what we see in that person. We need to examine our own fissures. Peace.

    Like

  4. MansWhirld says:

    It has been my experience that if we wait for external forces to make changes we seek, the outcome is not usually in our best interest or within the scope of our desire.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That sounds right to me too. It seems to me that we’re too prone as a society to see the need for change, then expect someone else to make it happen. Change should start with ourselves. As Gandhi said, we should be the change we want to see.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

