Good Advice

Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life. You should mind your own business and work with your hands, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.

1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

 

11 comments on “Good Advice

  1. Leigh says:

    This is a favorite verse of mine and one that comes to mind often. A good creed for homesteaders.

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    It’s been a good while since I’ve read Thessalonians, and I don’t remember ever noting these verses. The very idea — being ambitious for a quiet life!

    Still, at this point in my life, I understand completely why Paul would promote such a thing. I’ve managed to take his advice without even knowing it. Words he meant to be prescriptive have ended up, for me, being descriptive, and I’m darned happy about it.

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, some people are meant to be out in the public’s eye. You are such a person that quietly goes about teaching people about food in a non abrasive way and many probably don’t realize they are even being taught about the modern day pitfalls of the food industry. Depending on a person’s passion in life, will determine how much public exposure they will have. As for me, I try to spend as much time in the shadows as possible but it just doesn’t work that way. When I collected almost a thousand bags of yard waste to use as mulch on my big garden, the waste company came out and took pictures of the bags setting in my yard. When I transported them to my garden, they came out again and took pictures of them in the garden waiting to be spread out. The EPA got wind of my endeavors and decided they should test my soil for lead. When another land purchase was made the city health department interviewed me about what I was doing. Trying to lead a quiet life has indeed made an impact on the neighborhoods and the city officials obviously. I can only speculate that they might think I’m just crazy old coot gardening on a worthless weed infested vacant lot but at least I’m going about it in a quiet way. I’m not sure about the respect thing but with me it’s probably more about curiosity.

    Have a great quiet life day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You work with your hands and your daily life is winning the respect of outsiders. That’s a fine way to live. If that makes you crazy, then we need more crazy people. 🙂

      Like

  4. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    Such simple yet profound words. Thank you for introducing me to Thessalonians.

    Like

  5. ain't for city gals says:

    I hope I live my life this way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

