Ouch

Our goat Jennifer somehow got her ear impaled on her horn.

Don't you hate it when that happens?

Don’t you hate it when that happens?

IMG_2724

IMG_2725

After she let me unimpale the ear, she seemed no worse for the wear.

10 comments on “Ouch

  1. shoreacres says:

    Well, it seems to be just as easily fixed as foot-in-mouth, which I suffer from time to time. 😉

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, it is a wonder how animals end up in some of the most precarious situations. Just like me the thought in my brain seems like the thing to do at the time but some thing is lost when it comes out in reality. More times than I want to remember reality has bit me. At least your helpful hand remedied the situation before it became an infection.

    This weekend was spent visiting a friend about two hours away. When we get together we spend time exercising our passion in life together. We both love a good project to work on so he furnished a good one for us to work on Saturday. He built an unscreened ground level porch area on the front of his house last year. It was in need of a gutter system to direct the water away from the house. The porch area now has an aluminum gutter system in place with a downspout that directs the water down the hill away from the porch area.

    Today I meet with the city health department. They want to talk with me about my gardening on vacant lots. Keeping vacant lots under control and clear of weeds falls under the jurisdiction of the heath department. That should be quite interesting.

    Have a great animal rescue day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re a good kind of friend to have. You’re welcome here anytime. 🙂

      Please let me know how your meeting goes. Interestingly, I just read this in an interview with Joel Salatin: We hear a lot about food deserts, for example. The answer to these places is not food banks and government programs. The answer is to allow food and farming entrepreneurs to grow food in vacant lots, prepare it into quiche and stews in their apartment kitchen, and sell it to neighbors in the complex. If some enterprising person actually did this, within an hour five government agents would be slapping cease and desist orders on the door for violating some code requirement: building, zoning, business, food safety, infrastructure, employee. http://www.redletterchristians.org/following-christ-lunatic-grass-farmer-interview-joel-salatin/#sthash.B6WiuoxP.dpuf

      Like

  3. That has to take some type of talent, Bill. 🙂 Any guesses? –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s possible that our local haint Sukey Short did it to her for fun. More likely I’d guess she was fighting and her ear got in the way during some head butting. But that’s just a guess. I really don’t know how she managed to do that.

      Like

  4. valbjerke says:

    Not sure how you feel about goat horn removal – but it can be done even at that age – quite painlessly. My hubby prefers to keep the horns on the buck – but I always removed them from the does – it doesn’t surprise me at all she impaled her ear – goats are pretty creative with their horns 😊

    Like

  5. associatedluke says:

    This is why I’m thankful my ears aren’t floppy and don’t get impaled on my horns. That and I keep my horns filed down so you humans don’t get too freaked out. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

