Eating Like Pigs

I enjoy watching our pigs eat.  Nowadays when I take them their supper they’re usually off in the pasture somewhere.  I call them, and they come running.

They’re still small enough to feed out of one bowl, but that won’t be true much longer.

IMG_2559

Pigs take a lot of pleasure in eating.  Their happiness is infectious.

IMG_2608

Lately I’ve been cooling them off while they eat.  They seem to appreciate it.

IMG_2567

 

IMG_2589

That’s understandable, as it’s been steamy hot lately.

In addition to their daily helpings of GMO-free pig chow, they’ve been feasting on watermelons, zucchini, cabbage and other goodies from the garden, along with whatever they forage in the pastures.

Life is good for the White Flint pigs these days.

IMG_2603

 

14 comments on “Eating Like Pigs

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, pigs do seem to enjoy life and especially eating. They certainly are not finicky eaters that’s for sure. The garden waste is their candy so it seems. Pigs, in my humble opinion, are what makes a homestead most efficient because nothing goes to waste. Pigs are relentless eating machines. And, well, they produce my favorite thing. Bacon. Yes, everything tastes better with bacon. Well, not really. Ice cream and bacon don’t do well together. But almost every thing else does.

    The weather here continues in its weirdness. The lows at night continue to be in the 50s which is not the normal for this time of year. The tomatoes are just setting there without growth again this year. My understanding is that tomatoes need warm humid nights to mature. The green peppers are starting to grow some peppers but slowly and not very many. This has been a very different year for gardening.

    Have a great pig watching day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Every year brings different challenges in the garden, doesn’t it? Sorry you’re not getting the warmth you need. Here it’s been very hot and too dry. Last year was the opposite. To cool and too wet. Go figure.

      Nothing goes to waste here. All food scraps and garden excess goes to chickens, pigs, worms or compost.

      Like

  2. bobraxton says:

    on writer’s almanac:
    Watering Trough
    by Maxine Kumin

    Let the end of all bathtubs
    be this putting out to pasture
    of four Victorian bowlegs
    anchored in grasses.

    Let all longnecked browsers
    come drink from the shallows
    while faucets grow rusty
    and porcelain yellows.

    Where once our nude forebears
    soaped up in this vessel
    come, cows, and come, horses.
    Bring burdock and thistle,

    come slaver the scum of
    timothy and clover
    on the cast-iron lip that
    our grandsires climbed over

    and let there be always
    green water for sipping
    that muzzles may enter thoughtful
    and rise dripping.
    “Watering Trough” by Maxine Kumin, from Selected Poems. © Norton, 1997. Reprinted with permission.
    http://writersalmanac.publicradio.org/index.php?date=2013/06/06

    Like

  3. avwalters says:

    Pigs look like a solution to the garden waste problem–though there’s always compost.

    Like

  4. What sweet, happy faces. Livin’ the good life … 🙂

    Like

  5. df says:

    These are some of the best pictures I’ve seen in a long while; they just make one feel good! We keep thinking we’d love to have pigs, but haven’t taken the leap yet.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love having pigs around. They’re not much trouble and they’re a lot of fun. Of course they also produce a lot of food. Glad you liked the pictures. I have to restrain myself or I’d have to rename the blog “Pictures of Pigs Eating.”

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Do you remember the scene from “A Christmas Story” where the mother is trying to get Ralphie’s little brother to eat his supper? It’s a classic, and filled with the same good humor I see all over your piggies’ faces. What wonderful photos!

    Like

  7. I’m living vicariously through your farm until we get ours up and running. It helps me keep going through the drudgery of getting the infrastructure set up which seems to require a lot of hauling, loading, unloading, digging, etc… so keep those pictures coming!
    We have a flock of 14 chickens at home, but will have pigs, ducks and goats (or sheep – if my husband wins the coin toss) when we move out to the farm. Your farm (and your posts) are truly inspiring.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Your comment makes me smile. Sometimes I just want to post pictures like these and I wonder if I’m wasting readers’ time. The meatier posts generate more comments, but I know that I sometimes like posts that are just about daily life on the farm. So it’s encouraging to know that folks like you enjoy posts like this one. 🙂

      I’ve been through what you’re going through now. I was impatient and I worried that the day would never arrive when I could live this life. It seemed so far away. I spent years using whatever free time I had from my job to clean this place up. We hauled off mountains of junk. We build fences, a barn, a shed and a house. We bought equipment and implements. It was years before we even had a garden, much less livestock and a working farm. But it eventually happened for us and it will happen for you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

