Settling Back In

We’re back from the Wild Goose Festival, simultaneously exhausted and rejuvenated.  Our talk went well, and was unexpectedly spirited.  Perhaps because of that lots of people came up to us over the weekend to continue the conversation, which is encouraging.

I’ve been trying to share some of the art and natural beauty from the weekend, but Word Press won’t allow me to upload photos this morning.

It’s been a wild few days for us.  Time now to get back to tending the farm.  We’ve got some catching up to do.

11 comments on “Settling Back In

  1. Martha Caldwell-Young says:

    Hi, Bill. Good to hear the event went well. 🙂

    I want to pass along some info I got from a friend of mine, related to deer problems. She gave up gardening in her own yard because of intense deer foraging, and she now participates in a community garden. There, they have a system of double fences, both about 4 feet high and spaced about 4 feet apart. The theory is that deer won’t jump a fence unless there is more than 4 feet clear on the opposite side. Have you ever heard of this? Apparently it’s worked for them these past 4 or 5 years.

    I keep thinking about your deer troubles and keep hoping for some economical solution, short of killing most of them. I contacted another blogger who homesteads with his family in Vermont. He’d never mentioned deer, so I asked him if they were a problem for him. His family has a small herd of cattle, and he supposes it’s the presence of cattle that keeps deer away – probably not an option for you guys.

    My best wishes to you this growing season. You are the seeds of our future! 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Double fences do seem to work, but that’s an expensive proposition for gardening on a commercial scale. If we have to give it up and just garden for ourselves I’m fairly sure I’ll be able to keep them out. But we keep 18 gardens over a large area, which makes it really hard to keep them safe from deer. My neighbor the (former) vegetable farmer just put up a 7 foot tall fence around a small area to raise food for his family. He no longer tries to grow commercially.

      The blogger in Vermont must be benefiting from something else. Deer aren’t afraid of cattle (not here at least). We had cattle for a while and deer would leap the fence and graze along side them. We have goats and a horse now and the deer go into the pasture with them.

      While we were away deer ate the tops out of some of our tomato plants (a plant they supposedly don’t eat). But the good news is that our now-fenced watermelon garden is recovering very nicely. 🙂

      Thanks for the suggestions. I’m not ready to surrender just yet.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Welcome home. I’m glad to hear all went well, although I really didn’t expect anything else.

    As for the photos and such, it seems there was a little excitement at WordPress. I went over to the forums to see if anyone else was having the problem, and users from all over the world suddenly were seeing their dashboards and such in Turkish. So, the happiness engineers and the back room boyz have been busy taking care of whatever it was that caused that. 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve tried several times today to add them (including just now) but still haven’t been able to. Maybe the problem is on my end. Oh well. I took very few pictures this year compared to past years. I would like to have posted some but it seems it wasn’t meant to be, at least not yet.

      Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    Luke 5: 18 ; Matthew 9: 2 (they carried on a stretcher but could not get through due to the Press).

    Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m glad to see you back home safe and sound. I think God intended us to wake up early put a full day’s work, what ever it might be, and go to bed tired. I know it works for me. I spent the day setting up doctor appointments for a little health thing I have to take care of. Nothing serious just a little bump in the road of life.

    I hear you about catching up. I was gone for a week and am still trying to catch up with the weed and grass growth. Of course the 12 inches of rain in June might have contributed a bit to the growth problem.

    Rest well my friend for tomorrow is a new day. Have a great and restful day getting back in the routine.

    Like

  5. I am sure the pigs are hungry. Looking forward to the photos. –Curt

    Like

Leave a Reply

