My List

When I get a book recommendation or come across a reference to an interesting book, I add it to “my list.”  Lately I think I should title that list “Who Are You Kidding?”

It’s a long list. Some of the entries on it are so old that I’m no longer interested in the subject of the book.

I love reading.  It’s pretty much my only remaining hobby.  For many years I’ve probably read a book a week on average.  But these days I’m lucky to find a half hour a day for reading.  With over half of 2014 behind us now, I’ve only read 18 books this year and the pace is slowing.  I’ve only finished one book since May 16.

I’ll keep adding to the list and I expect that once winter rolls around I’ll be able to make a bit of a dent in it.  There are lots of great books remaining to be read.  I may never get around to reading most of them, but maybe I can take some comfort in knowing that they’re “on my list.”

12 comments on “My List

  1. shoreacres says:

    I follow a few book bloggers, and every one of them — and their readers — has what they call the TBR list. That would be “To Be Read,” of course. I just got my newest delivery from Amazon yesterday. I was quite astonished, actually. Who knew Amazon deliveries are made on Sunday? I can’t wait for my first drone delivery.

    Anyway, my stack grows, too, and I’m far behind you on reading books just to read books. On the other hand, I dipped into my new one last night, and was so entranced I couldn’t stop flipping pages. I see book reading in my future.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      At the end of last year I noticed quite a few bloggers posting lists of books they’d read during the year. That inspired me to keep track of mine.

      I never read books just for the sake of reading. Cherie scolds me for that. She reads even more than me but tries to mix in some thrillers and “fun” reading. In the past nearly everything I read is part of some study I’m doing, related to our work/movement, or otherwise “serious.” I’m trying to be better about that this year, dividing my reading between books on “the list”, books I already own but have never read and books I’ve read but want to read again. Of course until recently most of what I read was related to my thesis. As Mr. Jefferson said, I cannot live without books. 🙂

      Like

  2. bobraxton says:

    book lust to go: Librarian Nancy Pearl Maps Out A Plan For Your Summer Reading
    Nancy Pearl June 23, 2014 (National Public Radio)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Those summer reading lists make no sense for me. The summer is when I have the least time for reading. I need winter reading lists. 🙂

      Like

      • bobraxton says:

        Directed at children / child students I believe. When our one offspring was in high school, one summer a company offered him a job (defense-related – he is a math whiz). My counsel to him was that just because an organization offers a paying job does NOT mean that he has to take the job (offered). After considering the proffered work, he “decided” not to take the job. He reads voraciously and may have spent his summer that way — later, after teaching high school math (at college level) for three years and while in an 18-month graduate degree program, he went on Jeopardy! and even later on Millionaire. I would call that a summer very well spent, as are the four years of liberal arts education for those who have that option. For myself, I was first generation. My parents were born 1916 and 1923 (the latter still living) and they each had fewer options — although they each went to public school eleven years rather than six of earlier generation(s).

        Like

  3. Gunta says:

    I blame blogging for not having the time to read as much as I used to. But I still can’t fall asleep without some time with a real book. Then again, when I’m on the road, audiobooks are marvelous.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My wife enjoys audio books while working. I’ve never listened to one. Blogging does eat into time I would otherwise spend reading (as it is doing right now). But like you I try to get at least a little while with a book every night.

      Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    Ah, book lists. Mine and the content are numerous and varied. I keep track mainly via Goodreads and try to post as many reviews as I can, especially for Indie authors. And I have wish-lists on Book Depository and Amazon because they make discount offers on those books, or similar, from time to time.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Good for you for doing reviews. I’ve learned how important that is for authors. I’m sorry to say I’ve not been good about posting them. I didn’t know that Amazon made discount offers for books on wish lists. I’ll have to give that a try.

      Like

      • EllaDee says:

        Book Depository definitely do from time to time, and Amazon will send emails on offers of books (courtesy of data collection) you have clicked on or similar.

        Like

  5. I read very little fiction nowadays – first of all, time. Second, I have to be able to put it down to go do stuff, and if it’s good, I won’t be doing that, so better not to start. I usually do have something fiction on my bedside – usually something I’m re-reading – this is when I read a lot of childhood favourites, kind of like a lullaby I guess. I do read with my breakfast – almost always non-fiction, usually farm or food related. Other than that, reading has to wait for winter. Doesn’t stop me having a stack of books on the table to dip into, mind you. I’ve never really cottoned onto audio, except for family road trips (we went through a lot of classics that way), and like others, I think I do a fair bit of “screen” reading in the form of blogs in place of some of the night time reading I used to do on the couch.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Blog reading has cut into my book reading too, but I enjoy it and learn a lot. In the summer I find it hard to find the time to read the long list of blogs I try to follow. Hobbies just have to wait until nature rests. But like you that doesn’t stop me from having stacks of books all over the house. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

