New Chicks

When we added Dominickers to the farm one of our hopes was that we’d be able to hatch some chicks and thus help preserve this old and endangered breed.  That mission has now been accomplished.

We now have 5 little Dominques, being mothered by the Dark Cornish hen who hatched the eggs.

IMG_2331

Our state of the art incubator.

Our state of the art incubator.

Last night I put 11 more eggs under a broody hen (another Dark Cornish), so if all goes well we’ll have even more in 21 days.

14 comments on “New Chicks

  1. shoreacres says:

    One of my favorite artists is a Texas printmaker named Debbie Little-Wilson. And one of my favorite possessions is a piece I bought from her just because it makes me laugh every time I look at it. It suddenly occurs to me – the chicken in “Chicken Pot Pie” may be a Dominicker.

    Good luck with your chicks!

    Like

  2. Ooooohh, “state of the art incubator” … I love that. I’m reminded of the springs I went with my dad to the creamery to get new chicks in cardboard boxes with little dividers … I sat in the back seat and “kept an eye on them” … 🙂

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, there’s just something that feels right about doing things nature’s way, don’t you think? We never hatched our chickens. Mom always ordered them through the feed store. It was an exciting day when those boxes of chickens were ready to be picked up and brought home. The first couple weeks were spent making sure the chicks were warm enough but not too warm; had just the right amount of water and feed; and had enough space not to be too crowded. It looks to me like nature’s way is allot easier to do. I’m glad things are going well with your chickens.

    Have a great new chicks day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There are lots of advantages to just letting the mother hen hatch the eggs. No heat lamps necessary, for example. And we never buy starter feed. The mother finds food for them and sometimes they eat some of the feed we put out for the grown ups. We just let them grow up naturally and as long as they stay safe from predators it works out fine.

      Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    book one year after my paternal grandfather’s 1987 birth (he taught me rhyme): The Counting-out Rhymes of Children
    books.google.com/books?id=uH8MAAAAYAAJ
    Henry Carrington Bolton – 1888 – ‎Children
    One-ery, two-ery, ickery, am, Bobtail vinegar, tittle and tam ; Harum, scarum, madgerum … One sort, two sort, three sort Sal, Bobtailed dominicker, dee, daw, dal.

    Like

  5. I too love the state of the art incubator. I’m going back to Rhode Island Reds with the same ambition in mind. Not as gorgeous as your Dominickers, but they’re what I can get. So do you keep the Dark Cornish just so they can be mamas? A friend of my mother’s used to keep a couple of bantam hens just for that purpose…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Rhode Island Reds are great birds. We have one or two now. They were our main chicken when we started out.

      I bought the Dark Cornish hens from a woman who lives near us who was selling her flock and moving. They’ve never gone broody until this year, and this year they’re the only hens who’ve gone broody. The first two have been good mothers and there is a third one sitting on a clutch now. They’re decent layers and we enjoy having them. We didn’t buy them specifically to hatch and brood chicks but they’re doing a fine job of it.

      Like

  6. jubilare says:

    That Cornish hen is gorgeous! I know nothing about their breed, nor do I think I have seen them before.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They really are beautiful birds. I don’t think I’d ever seen one until we got these. We got them from a woman near us was selling off her flock.

      Like

Leave a Reply

