Sell It Not

Buy the truth, and sell it not; also wisdom, and instruction, and understanding.

Proverbs 23:23

12 comments on “Sell It Not

  1. Thank you for the perfect words for this morning …

    Like

  2. DM says:

    I love wisdom. Practical, forged on the iron of life wisdom.

    Like

  3. Bill, in our culture today most would consider wisdom to equate to smart and educated. Some of the wisest people I have known barely finished high school. My Dad was definitely in the wisdom category and only finished the eight grade. He taught himself to be a mechanic and actually had a truck mechanic business for over 20 years. I’m not sure if wisdom can be taught and scripture says just to ask for it. Dad was smart as well but 90 years ago it just wasn’t in the cards for him to get educated. Back then he was needed to help run the farm so education was not on the agenda for survival. He never let that hold him back and always had a good job to provide for the family and always seemed to have a waiting list for truck repair. Wisdom and honesty were two of his biggest virtues. He was the greatest of examples of what wisdom should be.

    Have a great wisdom filled day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m with you Dave. My maternal grandfather was a wise man. He dropped out of school after the 3rd grade to become the head of household and help save his family’s farm.

      I know well-educated people who seem to have no wisdom.

      I heard a talk today from someone who said commented that over the past couple of hundred years we have separated all areas of human knowledge into distinct subjects that can be taught in community colleges for a fee. He was talking about how we’ve lost so much of what we understood as people. He didn’t use the word wisdom, but that’s what I took him to mean.

      Like

  4. Once again, I find myself prefacing a comment with “I swear I am not making this up.”

    I went off in search of “I am the way and the truth and the life,” because I was never good at quoting Scripture. I got sidetracked, as I often do, eventually landing at a site that offered me access to Bible analysis in exchange for “free” registration.

    I’m not particularly wise, but I have enough street smarts to know that “free registration” is rarely that.

    Like

  5. bobraxton says:

    buying a home, selling a house: at (Oakton, VA) Byers & Cellars Realty, Inc.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Here’s a truth I just came across tonight.

    “If we do not permit the earth to produce beauty and joy, it will in the end not produce food, either.” – Joseph Wood Krutch

    Like

Leave a Reply

