Time For Summer Gardens

It’s warming up as we approach May.  The spring gardens are starting to produce, and now is the time we start prepping and planting our summer gardens.  Over the next few days we aim to plant beans, corn, tomatoes, summer squash, cucumbers, zucchini, watermelon, cantaloupes, okra, winter squash, peppers, eggplant and sunflowers.  We’ll also be starting our sweet potato slips.

Yesterday I got the party started by planting some green beans.

Beans garden prepped and ready for seed.

Beans garden prepped and ready for seed.

Seed in need of a home.

Seed in need of a home.

IMG_1861

IMG_1863

Gratuitous photo of cute kids

Gratuitous photo of cute kids

The list of things that need tending is now long and getting longer.  Basically we’ll be busy from daylight till dark until about the first of December.  As it should be.

 

15 comments on “Time For Summer Gardens

  1. Oh, thank you for the cut kids photo … those sweet faces always make my day brighter, and that garden you’ve readied, the Garden of Eatin’, “blesses the whole human family.” Good Morning!

    Like

  2. Bill, this is indeed a busy time of the year. I could spend sun up to sun down in the garden but alas care for a nine year old grandson and an aging mother in law prevents it. I’m not sure that my body could take heavy garden work all day any more. I’m up to four hours straight before I have take a break. At the beginning of every garden year it takes a few weeks to get back into gardening shape. The winter days are leisurely spent reading garden books and planning for the next year. It’s amazing how quickly muscle tone leaves and how difficult it is to get it back.

    We have another couple weeks before warm weather planting begins. It will be a flurry for a week or two then things will settle down into the fence construction and ground water spring development mode. Many interesting projects going on this year will keep things lively.

    Have a great Summer gardens day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah I’ve been feeling it in my back a bit lately. I just came in from hoeing potatoes. My neighbor across the road is tilling his tobacco fields from inside an air conditioned cab. No bending over necessary.

      Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    2014.04.28 Mon twi-lit
    winter
    coat: and
    I am

    © 2014 RobertJulianBraxton

    B4 2014.04.28 Mon
    Wadewitz, 37
    clamber
    up rock
    climber
    2 ‘a wadewit’
    woman
    you don’t
    write like

    2014.03.15 Sat twi-lit
    writing
    from the
    let go

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Uh – I just looked at your weather forecast. I hope it doesn’t verify. If it does, the next question is: can you plant in the rain? Maybe they’re really, really wrong. I hope so!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We’re keeping an eye on the sky. No rain yet. But rain is good. If we get washed out we’ll just plant when it’s dry.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Oh good grief. Now I see what you meant. I knew it was going to rain, but I just got an email alert saying to expect 2-3 inches over the next two days with a possibility of 4-5 inches. Even 2 inches is likely to cause a lot of damage and flooding. Yikes.

      Like

  5. associatedluke says:

    Best tips for growing green beans? I’m thinking of planting a row in my little and oft neglected garden this year. Also, any tips on keeping slugs off squash?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Green beans are one of the easiest veggies to grow. Just put the seeds in the ground about 1/2 inch deep about 4 inches apart. Once they’re producing you’ll need to pick them every other day to keep them producing. Make sure you use bush-style beans (rather than pole beans) unless you plan to trellis them. Good luck!

      I’ve never had any problem with slugs on squash. We have big problems with squash bugs and they definitely require vigilance.

      Like

      • associatedluke says:

        Awesome! I like easy. I’ll go bush style and be more vigilant about the squash bugs.

        Like

  6. Sign me up for at least one of everything, maybe two or more bunches of sunflowers.

    I wonder if I might have said this here before (last year perhaps?): Your list brings to mind a song by Chris Smither, called “No Love Today.” He wrote it around the fruit and vegetable vendor from his childhood growing up in New Orleans, and in his introduction to the song on one of his albums, he imitates the vendor, calling out the list of produce he had on the wagon that particular day. As I read your list, I heard Chris calling it out in the costermonger’s voice.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m listening to it now. With a big smile on my face. Maybe I should learn to do that. I wonder how it would go over at the farmer’s market? Thanks for bringing it to my attention. 🙂

      Like

  7. P.S. Cute doesn’t even begin to describe the kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

