Life Here Among Us

Our Open House is today.  Just as I did last year, I’m worried that no one will come.  Last year we ended up having a nice turnout.  Hopefully we will this year as well.

This morning I just want to urge folks to go check out Linda’s (Shoreacres) fine post Sleepers, Awake.

You should read the whole thing, but here’s the beautiful ending:

Gabriel García Márquez , author of the incomparable One Hundred Years of Solitude, has left us an answer fully as magical as Andersen’s fairy tales, just as realistic as Jesus’s understanding of humanity. In the days before his death, Márquez wrote a letter to the world. Near the end, he said:

Tomorrow is never guaranteed to anyone, young or old. Today could be the last time to see your loved ones, which is why you mustn’t wait; do it today, in case tomorrow never arrives. I am sure you will be sorry you wasted the opportunity today to give a smile, a hug, a kiss, and that you were too busy to grant them their last wish.
Keep your loved ones near you; tell them in their ears and to their faces how much you need them and love them. Love them and treat them well; take your time to tell them “I am sorry,” “forgive me, “please,” “thank you,” and all those loving words you know.

Márquez’s words ring true. In the midst of all the apparent death which surrounds us — rigid, insensate and stuporous as it is — we still have the power, by our own actions, to reveal it as temporary sleep.

“I am not dead, I am only sleeping,” says Anderson.

“I would awake while others sleep,” says Marquez.

“Awake, O sleeper, and rise,” sings out the Easter proclamation. “The seal of the grave is broken, and the morning of a new creation breaks forth out of night.”

Reach out with your actions. Reach out with your words. Take the hand of the one next to you, whether stranger or friend. There is life here among us, waiting to be lived. It’s time for the sleepers to awake.

12 comments on “Life Here Among Us

  1. Bill, so true about living today as if it’s the last. It’s good advice to remember amongst all the hustle and bustle to stop and smell the roses. Gardening can be that way too. Amongst all the busy tasks of digging, planting, weeding, or harvesting, the beauty of the amazing life and balance between seeds that turn into plants; pollinators that bring the harvest; and the raging battle between good bugs and bad bugs can be lost. Times should be taken to just sit, watch, and enjoy the garden. My Dad said that if you listen on a hot summer night, you could hear the creaks and groans of corn growing in the field. I can’t say that I’ve ever heard it but I don’t doubt we miss allot by not taking the time to enjoy the moment.

    Have a great life here among us day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve heard that about hearing the corn grow too, but I’ve never heard it either (of course we don’t grow corn around here on that kind of scale). But I do love the sounds of night. The crickets, frogs, whipporwills, owls, etc, make a mighty pretty noise.

      I’m much better at slowing down and enjoying the moment than I used to be, but I’m still bad about not doing it enough.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I have heard the corn grow! It’s not at all a myth. When I was growing up in Iowa, you could walk out into the fields at the height of the growing season and hear the stuff cracking and creaking. If the rain and heat combined just right, it could grow six inches overnight. We used to go out and measure the stuff for biology class.

        Like

  2. DM says:

    You guys have a great day. I will be thinking of you. Having hosted several events here @ our place I know some of the emotions of which you speak..then the cars start pulling into the driveway and you’ll be off to the races 😉 then much later tonight you’ll drag your weary bones into the house, sit down in your favorite chair and be amazed that another open house has come and gone. thank you for opening your home (and your life) to your neighbors, near and far. DM

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We had a nice turnout. Even better than last year. It was a good mix of people and a beautiful day. And you’re right–we’re beat. I’m just taking a break before heading back out to finish cleaning up. It was a good day. I appreciate the good wishes.

      Like

  3. I haven’t read Linda’s post yet, so I’ll go do that for further comment. (Thanks for the reminder.)

    Since this is the second time in as many weeks that the song has come to mind, here’s a cherry-picking of the lyrics that still come to mind. I hope David wouldn’t mind.

    “There’s nothing wrong with taking time for sleeping/Your soul is weary with the things that you have seen/A deeper promise your soul is keeping/Right in time for this appointment in your dream….Beloved, it is time for you to rise…” — David Wilcox, “Rise,” from Into the Mystery.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBJqTdTK4t4

    I tried a ride in the car this week, with the hope of making the drive to the open house. Unfortunately, I’m just not ready to rise yet. Someday soon. 🙂

    Like

    • And, as I started out to say (!)…If the weather there is as nice as it is here, it looks like a beautiful day for your open house. Say hello to Madonna and Emmylou et. al. for me! (Between you and Steve at Brown Road Chronicles, I’m developing a thing for goats.) Hope it’s a great day.

      Like

      • Bill says:

        Thanks HC. We had a very nice turnout and the weather couldn’t have been better. Madonna was good about letting us play with her kids and Squeaky seemed to enjoy the attention.

        If you ever decide to get a goat, we’ll be happy to help you out. 🙂

        I love the rise metaphor. It is so rich.

        Hoping you’re back to full-speed very soon.

        Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    My goodness! Thank you so much! Honored to be mentioned here.

    And I’m glad to know that the day was a success. Honestly, I didn’t expect anything else. I always figure the people who are supposed to show up, do show up. And I suspect you do need a break at this point!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We had lots of people send us messages saying they had conflicts, couldn’t make it, etc. At about 10 past 1 no one had come, but then they started showing up in droves. Lots of the people who came had never been before. It was a good day. 🙂

      Like

  5. So glad to hear you had great weather and a good turnout. Or was it good weather and a great turnout? Nevertheless – another success. Life is good on the farm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

