Defended

The defense of my thesis went very well yesterday.  As well as I could have hoped.  It’s a satisfying feeling to know that what I’m saying makes sense and is breaking new ground.

I’m writing this in a hotel room in West Virginia.  I’m tired and ready to be home on the farm I’ve neglected for the past couple of days.

My seminary career is over and I’m pleased with how it ended.

I may have some important decisions to make in the near future about what’s next for my work and I’ll share more details on that later.

Meanwhile, in a few hours I hope to be home and breaking real ground.  That’s the most important work of all.

18 comments on “Defended

  1. Bill, I have not done any thing of the magnitude that you have just completed and don’t pretend to know the pressure of writing a thesis. I can, however, remember my college days and what a relief it was to be done with reports that took research and development. At the end of my college stretch I can remember how wonderful it felt not to be facing another day of classes and learning. My brain was full and couldn’t hold another single bit of information. I have to laugh at that now because less than two years later I was hired as a technician for a major telecommunications company which required one year of training on a new technology for telephone switching. (Rolling eyes).

    It takes allot of help and sacrifice from the family as well so kudos to them as well. Have a great “it’s done relief” day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I spent over a year on this project so it feels kind of strange not having it hanging over me. I do have a real sense of satisfaction from finishing it, but I’m already thinking about what’s next. 🙂

      Like

  2. Congratulations, Bill. All the best going forward.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Will. There were times as a lawyer when I began to feel I was a fairly decent writer. But I now know that is only because I was writing among lawyers. I’ve met some really great writers through blogging (and I count you among them) and they’ve helped me realize my limitations. I don’t know yet what’s going to happen with this thing I wrote. It does feel good to have it done.

      Like

  3. Jeff says:

    Excellent. I’m sure you’re glad that you’ve crossed that hurdle and now can focus on the things that are important to you now. It’s time for applied Christianity, as I’m sure you’d agree.

    Like

  4. df says:

    Bill, that must feel tremendously good. I can hear in your words your readiness to move on to new challenges. All the best!

    Like

  5. MansWhirld says:

    Congratulations on the culmination of years of work and preparation. I hope you make it safely back to the comfort of your farm and enjoy the challenges that God has laid ahead for you.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    To quote that well-respected theologian, Jimmy Buffet, “Every stop there’s a place to start.” Here’s my favorite version.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks very much for that! I’ve long had that JB song in my collection but had never heard Aaron Neville sing it. I love it. Such a great singer. I’ve been privileged to see the Neville Brothers a couple of times–once on a riverboat in New Orleans (which was a total surprise, this being before they were on SNL) and once in a club in Charlottesville when I was close enough to touch Aaron during the entire show. Great memories.

      Like

  7. Congratulations…a job very well done.
    For what it’s worth: within six years my father went from commanding officer of a large coastal ferry/farmer to seminary student/farmer to full time pastor – shepherd as he sometimes said. He’d fully intended to transition from being a skipper to being a farmer, living out his days on the land, raising good food. But things changed. It’s called a calling for a reason…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks for sharing that. I’ve never had that calling, and right now I feel confident that my calling is to tend this land and be an advocate for the food movement. But they say the way to make God laugh is to tell God your plans. 🙂

      Like

  8. DM says:

    Congrat’s and glad you had a good day! DM

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks brother. I was just hoping that they wouldn’t send me back for a major rewrite or point out some significant error in my work. Now I think there’s a chance I may be able to get this message to a wider audience and that’s a good feeling.

      Like

  9. What a sense of accomplishment you must feel. I imagine there was also a huge sigh of relief at the end. Kudos to you. It will feel good to get your hands back in the dirt again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

