He’s On My Side

I’m defending my thesis this afternoon.

IMG_1802

Mr. Wesley seems to approve of it.

IMG_1828

"I'm John Wesley and I approved this message."

“I’m John Wesley and I approved this message.”

"Eat your veggies."

“Eat your veggies.”

Hopefully a little fun won’t jinx me.  🙂

16 comments on “He’s On My Side

  1. DM says:

    Have fun! Will be thinking of you. I’ve never done that sort of thing before, so I want lots of details when you’re done! 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks bro. It went very well. I’ll post about it in the morning. Settling into my hotel room for the night to celebrate with a glass of wine…

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Theologians, a crotchety lot
    are generally given to thought.
    But show them a seed
    that might meet a need?
    It might be they’re the ones being taught!

    Like

    • Shoreacres, very appropriate.

      Like

    • shoreacres says:

      OK – never publish a first draft. 😉

      Theologians, a crotchety lot
      are generally given to thought.
      But show them a seed
      that meets human need?
      Now they are the ones being taught!

      Like

      • Bill says:

        They were well prepared to make sure I knew my stuff and they gave me plenty of good feedback. One of the readers was an ethicist with an expertise in public health and the other was a Wesley scholar and systematic theologian. It went as well as I could have possibly hoped. Some of what I had previously held as hope is now turning to optimism. 🙂

        Like

  3. Oh, wishing you all the best today … hahaha … Love the hat ! :))

    Like

  4. Steve says:

    man-to-man defense or a zone?
    Good luck.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Full court press. 🙂
      I was confident on the ag side, but expected some strong push back there. I was a little more nervous about the Wesley scholarship, but it went very well.
      Glad to be able to move on.

      Like

  5. Bill, really? After all that blood, sweat, and tears, now you have to defend it? My prayers are for you to leave the professors speechless. Your attitude is right on. There’s too much seriousness in life the way it is. I’m expecting good news tomorrow …. Doc.

    Have a great defensive day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks brother. It’s standard procedure to have to do an oral defense of the work before a couple of professors whose job is to make sure you’ve really done meritorious work. It went much better than I expected.

      Like

  6. A large bronze statue of Testudo, the university mascot, sits in front of the University of Maryland’s main library, where passers-by rub his nose for good luck. Therefore, Testudo’s nose is always shiny. I can’t help but notice that Mr. Wesley’s nose is a bit shiny. I don’t intend to suggest anything. Just relating the facts as they are presenting themselves to me. 🙂

    Regardless, I doubt that you need luck, so best wishes to you and congratulations.

    I, too, love the hat and the veggie sentiment.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks HC. Mr. Wesley took my clowning around with him very well. If he didn’t bring me luck, he didn’t jinx me either. 🙂

      And he really would insist we should eat our veggies.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. John Wesley in Conversation with the Contemporary Food Movement…what a great topic. I am confident you will nail this thing. It’s a passion of yours for one, and it’s right, for another. But yeah, I’m with DM…details when it’s over, please!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re right about it being a passion. Once they got me cranked up it just poured out of me. I’m passionate about this movement and broadening its appeal. Stay tuned for more on that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

