Transitioning

Things are still fairly relaxed on the farm these days.  There’s not much that needs to be picked or weeded.  It’s still too wet and cold to start any summer planting.  There’s no need to rush or feel pressed.

In the summer it’s usually impossible to keep up, even though the sun rises early and sets late. Those days will be upon us soon enough.

It’s almost time to cut off the wood stove for the year.  Which means I don’t have to cut any more wood for a while.  But it also means that from here on out I’ll be cutting a lot of grass instead.

A barn in the woods.

A barn in the woods.

A friend came over to fish yesterday and he landed this 3 1/2 pound whopper.   It’s one of the biggest fish I’ve seen come out of our pond.

That's a big fish.

That’s a big fish.

Then, as he was about to call it a day he made one more cast and ended up with a 6 1/2 pound monster of a fish.  Not a bad afternoon’s work.

But the other one is nearly twice as big.

But the other one is nearly twice as big.

Today I’m off to Kentucky, to defend my thesis tomorrow.

11 comments on “Transitioning

  1. El Guapo says:

    Hope the defense goes well!

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Are those fish bass? (I’m pretty ignorant about fishing!)

    Good luck tomorrow. I have a feeling it will be a good experience, even if a little nerve-wracking in the run-up. 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, large mouth bass. That biggest one is the largest I’ve ever seen.

      Thanks for the good wishes. I’m on for tomorrow afternoon. Will try to get to bed early tonight and spend all morning reviewing it all.

      Like

  3. df says:

    We would love to have fish in our pond, so I’m properly envious. What a great surprise for you!

    Like

  4. Eumaeus says:

    Good luck, Bill.

    These spring days we try to do to much. Everything seems possible before the weeds take off. Right you are that the transition is something to be enjoyed and savored.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Lately I’ve been going out and walking the rows, finding a blade of grass here and there. Makes me smile when I think of the rush of weeds that will soon be coming.

      Like

  5. vpfarming says:

    Definitely feeling sore from using all the muscles I forgot to use all winter long. Good luck on the thesis. And those are some mighty fine looking fish.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Summer will soon test us both I expect.
      Thanks for the well wishes on the thesis.
      As for the fish, I was afraid the otters might’ve cleaned ought the pond. That’s clearly not the case. 🙂

      Like

  6. That is quite a fish! We lit our last woodstove fire last night after spending the weekend at the farm thinning the alders to stock up on firewood for upcoming winters.
    If wishes were fishes, I’d send you that 6 1/2 lb bass that today goes well with your thesis!

    Like

Leave a Reply

