Giving

“If you really want to make a friend, go to someone’s house and eat with him. The people who give you their food give you their heart.”

Cesar Chavez

h/t Givenness

 

7 comments on “Giving

  1. Bill, that’s so true. In biblical times deals were sealed with meals. I have found that friendships are strengthened from the conversations that are spawned over meals. Conversations and food just go together. Unfortunately in today’s busy rush rush world that is being lost. Sit down meals are a waste of time for some folks. Fast eating is another issue that I have with our culture. A big bite, two chomps of chewing, and a wash down with usually soda pop is not the way food should be enjoyed. Eating seems to have become a necessary nuisance and not a relaxing enjoyable thing. I’ve had to teach many of my friends to have conversations over a shared meal. It’s ok to talk a little; eat a little; talk a little more. Losing the enjoyment of eating in our society is a sad thing, don’t you think?

    Have a great meal with someone today.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I agree Dave. Eating together is not a cultural priority any more. We’ve let other things crowd it out. A full 20% of our meals are now eaten in cars. I’m reminded of a Tim McGraw lyric, “Sitting ’round the table. It don’t happen much any more.”

      Like

  2. Good timing with this one, it’s Maundy Thursday as I read it…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I didn’t make the connection when I posted it, but it is fitting. As N.T. Wright has written, “When Jesus wanted to explain to his disciples what his upcoming death was about, he didn’t give them a theory. He gave them a meal.”

      Like

  3. Tina Schell says:

    I have to disagree w Nebraska Dave. It seems to me that mealtime is getting longer as conversations grow and friendships deepen. Guess I’m just lucky that my friends enjoy a good meal and the conversation that goes with it as much as I do! Excellent food for thought Bill (LOL Pun intended!)

    Like

    • Tina, you are truly blessed to have friends that you can enjoy long conversations over meals. I’ve had to teach my friends to slow down eating and one is still in training. After about 15 minutes she starts getting antsy. You are correct about deepening friendships over longer meal times.

      Kids (not goats) …. I should say children have a lot to do with the length of meals. Long leisurely meals ended the moment my grandson came to live in my household. His mom came first and then the energy level quadrupled when Bradley came to live here. Being a picky eater but a total fruit lover changed the whole dynamics of meal time.

      Have a great deep friendship conversation over a meal day.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      As Dave says, you are blessed to be having longer mealtimes with good conversation and deepening friendships. As a culture our mealtimes continue to grow shorter and lonelier. The whole family sitting down to enjoy a meal and conversation together is an increasingly rare thing these days. Good for you for holding onto the value of fellowship over a meal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

