Pretty Things

I got more gardens prepped yesterday, in the hope of getting them planted in the next few weeks.

This one will be watermelons.

This one will be watermelons.

Imagine sweet corn, okra and winter squash in these.

Imagine sweet corn, okra and winter squash in these.

It’s really beautiful this time of year.  Pretty things everywhere.

IMG_1718

IMG_1723

IMG_1733

IMG_1738

Yesterday’s post featured Madonna’s kids, but didn’t include a picture of the proud mama.  So I’m fixing that today.

Madonna and child.

Madonna and child.

12 comments on “Pretty Things

  1. Bill, it is indeed a wonderful time of the year even if the weather isn’t quite co operating just yet. It’s frosty here this morning with temperature of 24 and feels like 17 with a high today of 55. Yesterday was so nasty cold with the wind and snow that I didn’t even uncover the cabbages. I haven’t looked at the onions yet but I’m sure they are gone at 24 degrees. I’ll have to replant them for a third time this year. The cabbages should be good as they are under glass gallon jars. The jars make nice protectors from the elements. Since my grandson goes through a gallon of whole dill pickles about twice a month, I have an abundance of empty gallon glass jars.

    Have a great Virginia gardening day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It rained here all day, probably about 2 inches, further damaging my freshly planted/tilled gardens. It was over 60 in the early afternoon then the temperature plunged over 20 degrees in no time flat. It’s 36 now with a forecast low of 28 both tonight and tomorrow night. This winter just refuses to surrender.

      I’m looking forward to comparing our warm summer days.

      Like

  2. Buffy says:

    I’m just amazed at how large your gardens are. No gardening here today. We had a freeze last night and expecting another tonight. Hopefully we can plant most of our garden on Good Friday.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Good Friday is the traditional day to plant. That was the day my Grandpa and Granny always aimed to plant theirs.
      We’re under a freeze warning tonight and tomorrow and we had heavy rain all day today. Not good gardening weather.
      I hope you have a beautiful day on Friday.

      Like

  3. Madonna and child … I love it … I am continually amazed at the size of your gardens and how dedicated you are to them and to the people for whom you provide fresh veggies. What a wonderful contribution to the world.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s a very sweet thing to say Teresa. I love growing food. Lately I’ve been feeling a little frustrated that so few people here care enough to support local farmers growing good food. We’re very grateful for the people who choose to get their food from us and it makes me happy to help them give their families good food. But sadly the contribution we’re making is far less than it should be.

      Like

  4. El Guapo says:

    I have to ask – did you name her Madonna just so you could use that line? 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      No, that would require way too much forethought. But she was named for the Beatles song which includes the line, “Lady Madonna, children at your feet…”

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Oh, thank goodness. I thought she might be named for that “other” Madonna. It didn’t seem likely, but then I’d forgotten the Beatles’ song.

    I forgot to ooh and ahh about your asparagus spear in the other entry, too. That’s just good looking. I’ve got a big bowl of fresh strawberries in the fridge. We had a real rip-snorter come through here yesterday, too. No telling how it affected their fields. But at least we’re not going down to freezing. Yesterday we dropped from 78 to 42 – it was cold out there, looking at the eclipse! Did you get to see it?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was too cloudy here to see the eclipse, unfortunately.
      Right now it’s 35 and the wind is howling. Can’t put away the winter clothes yet, unfortunately.
      I think I used every possible name in the Beatles catalog. Madonna is in with a small group of goats that includes Anna, Julia, Yoko (named for the song title, not the person) and Pam–all inspired by the Beatles. We also have Prudence, Penny, Sadie, Michelle, Loretta and Martha. Gone, but not forgotten, are Rita, Molly, Eleanor, Vera, Lizzie and Mary. We couldn’t use Lucy, because we already had a hen using that name. 🙂

      Like

  6. All the photos are very pressy. Nice spring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

