On the Other Hand

It’s been a couple of months now since I submitted my thesis to my advisor and reader.  So far I’ve heard nothing.  If the verdict turns out to be a significant re-write, then I’ll be hard-pressed to find time for it now that the weather seems to have broken.  So I’m choosing to believe they won’t send me back to the drawing board.  Either way I have to find time for a trip to Kentucky to defend it.

I haven’t shared anything from it on the blog.  That’s not because very few readers of this blog would be interested in it–a trivial detail that has never before stopped me–but primarily because I don’t want the blog to trigger a hit on the plagiarism check.

These days students’ papers are run through some process that compares the text to the zillions of books, papers and websites on the internet, running up red flags for copying or suspicious similarities.  I don’t want to have to deal with explaining that the “copying” is from my own blog and I don’t want to figure out whether I’m obligated to cite it.  So for now at least I’ll continue to leave Mr. Wesley out of my food movement blabberings.

But I suppose I can share my idea for a cover.

There is a life size statue of Wesley at Asbury.  He has his arms lifted, with a Bible in one hand. My thought is to have him holding some produce in the other hand.  Anyone have any thoughts on that?  Assuming the idea has merit, what should he be holding up?  A bunch of carrots?  A head of broccoli?  A cabbage? A free-range GMO-free chicken?

Wesley_at_asbury

800px-Wesley_statue_close

25 comments on “On the Other Hand

  1. WB says:

    an egg

    Like

  2. bobraxton says:

    good question – I thought of chalice (cup / wine) – blood – shed for you

    Like

  3. Bill, on our state capitol building we have a statue of a woman that is in a similar pose. She, however, has a bag of seed by her side in an un raised hand instead of a bible and with her other hand is casting the seed out on the ground. Appropriately, the name of this statue is the “Seed Sower”. Of course for your statue being from Nebraska, I would say there should be an ear of corn in the extended hand. 🙂

    Have a great “On the other Hand” day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love the seed-sowing idea! Maybe casting seed with one hand and holding up a copy of The Collected Poems of Wendell Berry in the other. 🙂

      Like

  4. Bread. Freshly baked, homemade. pumpernickel.

    Like

  5. P.S I hope we’ll eventually be able to see at least some of your work. Learning a little about the Wesleys was integral in my upbringing. I’d be interested to read more.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I like seed, myself – especially since that Bible represents the sowing of a different kind of seed.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Seed is a great image. I taught a kids class at church one time and asked them what, according to the creation story, was the first thing God gave humanity. The answer, of course, is seeds. And it was very good.

      Like

  7. beeholdn says:

    ‘On the other hand’, Bill . . . it occurs to me that his hands might be too full then. There’s a lot to be said for a reaching, empty, open hand. Perhaps you could insert a blade of grass alongside the Bible in his left hand, leaving the right free to accept, to receive with gratitude.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Good point and well said. The thesis is about Wesley and food, so I thought this well-known image of him, with some healthy food in his other hand, would illustrate my point.

      Like

  8. EllaDee says:

    Beholdn’s point is a good one, as is Bill’s. Blade of grass in bible hand, and sack of seed at feet. And on the back cover the usual fast food detritus at feet.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love the back cover idea!
      These comments have been great. I’m liking the idea of adding something else to the hand holding the Bible, thus leaving the other one empty. I’m still kind of attached to the idea of him holding up some good food though. I’ll keep pondering it.

      Like

  9. I’d go with a shock of corn from an esthetic perspective. A bunch of broccoli if I was going for humor. 🙂

    Like

  10. beeholdn says:

    It occurred to me early this morning that the right hand might be releasing a bird, leaving the hand empty again . . . but I hadn’t realized that the thesis has a food theme . . . hmm . . . do quail fly?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The thesis examines where Wesley’s work and thought would locate him within the food movement, and argues for the existence of a Wesleyan food ethic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

