Uncle

It was a beautiful morning yesterday when I went out to do chores. There were bluebirds on the fence and birdsongs in the air.

I snapped this picture of Jolene’s cute kid.

IMG_1412

Then this happened.

IMG_1441

IMG_1447

It’s the fourth snow of March here in southern Virginia.

Uncle.

12 comments on “Uncle

  1. shoreacres says:

    I just checked your weather. At least it shouldn’t be a days-long event. Still…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      By the time it stopped yesterday we had 3-4 inches on the ground. This morning you wouldn’t even know it snowed yesterday. Not a trace of it is left. That’s Virginia.

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, we have had three snows of that nature this year as well. I don’t mind the snows in March because just as you have stated the next day there’s no trace of the snow and the wonderful nitrogen loaded moisture has soaked into the soil better than a rain.

    Has your planted lettuce survived? I will have to replant my cabbages and onions. It’s not because of the snow but the last five days of lower 20s temperatures were too much to endure even with covering. I’ll wait another week and plant the next round to see if they can survive.

    I am hoping the weather patterns will be a little more favorable for gardening soon. Have a great March day in Virginia.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The lettuce seems to be doing fine, but the onions are looking kinda poorly. We’re behind in everything now, but as someone told me, why worry about not having it planted, since it wouldn’t grow now anyway.

      We have rain forecast for the weekend. The soil will dry eventually and when it does I’ll be planting like crazy.

      Like

  3. El Guapo says:

    Yep. It’s freezing in NYC, but we did dodge the flakes today.

    Like

  4. Lynda says:

    We got a little bit of that yesterday too. Ours was gone in about 10 minutes! Simply crazy weather we are having this year, and I agree with you, “Uncle!”

    Like

  5. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, here in western Missouri we keep getting a dusting of snow and days in the 20s and 30s. Then the temperature will go up–it’s predicted to be in the low 70s for the weekend. I live in an area known as “Tornado Alley” and there seems always to be a wind. And on those colder days, the air is so chilly that I don’t get out and walk. Of course, then I don’t sleep as well. So, like you, I’m saying, “Uncle,” and hoping that the weekend is just the beginning of truly warmer weather here . . . and less wind! Peace.

    Like

  6. It sure is pretty, though. Catching up slowly and looking forward to whatever goat tales I’ve missed. . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

