Lettuce Start Planting

Ahead of the latest rain/sleet/snow I was able to get started on planting lettuce.

IMG_1309

Deer-proofing them.  We hope.

Deer-proofing them. We hope.

Of course the “wintry mix” means we won’t be planting our potatoes today.

But that’s OK.  It feels good to have gotten started.

7 comments on “Lettuce Start Planting

  1. Good man, you are an amazing example of what it means to do what you can to make the world a better place … I mean that.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Aww, thanks Teresa. But I haven’t done anything to merit a comment as nice as that. I do enjoy trying to make our little slice of the world a better place. Sometimes we’re better at it than at others.

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, wow, you sure have big gardens. My soil temp chart says that lettuce should be good down to 20 degrees. I suspect that a little snow won’t hurt the lettuce much. It might even help with the extra shot of nitrogen. Even though we had a bit of snow (just a skiff that’s already gone) the soil temperature in the rejuvenated bed has raised five degrees to 50 degrees at six inches depth. That’s good for any of the cool weather crops but the air temperature here is a little harsh still and gets into the middle twenties at night. I still have hopes to get something in the ground by weeks end.

    Not to worry there’s still plenty of things to do to get ready for the growing season. Three more beds need to be rejuvenated and soil for the experimental bucket growing needs to be mixed. I love Spring.

    Have a great garden planting day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Snow would probably be better than the sleet we’re getting right now. I think the plants will be fine as this will all be melted away within 48 hours. If not, then we’ll just plant again. 🙂

      There’s surely no shortage of things to do this time of year.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Clever title. When I was a tot, it took me a while to figure out why lettuce had such a hard life. Grandpa always was saying, “Lettuce pray.”

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I taught my son the Lord’s Prayer when he was learning to say his prayers at night. It took me a while to realize he was saying, “Our father, which aren’t in heaven…”

      Like

    • bobraxton says:

      brains working alike – I was going to say / write that prayer always seemed to begin with a salad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

