Carrie Newcomer

Last week we drove down to Duke University to see folk-singer Carrie Newcomer in concert. It was a free show, in an intimate setting, with probably no more than 50 people in the audience.

Although I knew of her, mainly through the writings of Parker Palmer and Brian McLaren, I wasn’t familiar with her music.  I was very impressed and now am a fan.

Here’s a couple of the songs she performed.

9 comments on “Carrie Newcomer

  1. El Guapo says:

    Glad you had a good time.
    I always love when I see an act I like live and they’re good.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was well worth the drive. I was really surprised at how few people showed up but she had done a workshop there during the day and maybe a lot of people went to that instead.

      Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, now that’s the kind of concert I would like. The normal concerts of today, even Christian, insist on having thousands of fans and the volume up to 11. The music is so loud that the last time I went to one I used ear plugs. That was many years ago at the Iowa State Fair. I’d just rather listen to their CD where I can control the volume. I have to believe the young folks of today will be having hearing problems as they grow older. Oh, but wait, they don’t need hearing because they only text on their phones to communicate with each other. 🙂

    Have a great concert day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s a sign of our age brother. I’m an old rocker myself and I still play my music way too loud. I’ve been to hundreds, probably thousands of concerts in my day. Back in the day I’d go to at least one a week. Nowadays it’s very rare. This was the first show I’ve been to in probably two years. Although I still enjoy loud music, my tastes are definitely drifting toward the quieter stuff.

      Like

  3. our son (born 1971) took me to an area concert with The Boss. I, too, stuffed my ears – which did not help me all that much since the strong vibrations came up through the concrete floor and vibrated my body’s bones, not just in the functioning parts of my ear(s). My tastes lean more toward Taize, Wild Goose (the Iona community), meditation, chant (I’ll take my chants with). I turn the TV on loud – but my spouse plays the house radio (NPR) too loud for me (or maybe too much Bass).

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve been trying to replace some of my old favorite vinyl records that didn’t survive the transition to CDs and digital. Just this morning I finished downloading the Born to Run album. I do enjoy quiet and contemplative music, but I also like it loud sometimes.

      Like

  4. Lynda says:

    Lovely! Her sound and style take me back to my youth. I, for the most part, don’t recognize the stuff they call music these days as music. But then, isn’t this the lament of each generation, ours included, when we get older? It would certainly seem so when I think back on what my parents used to say about the “stuff” I listened to. 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re right Lynda. I find most of the stuff on the radio unlistenable. I don’t think it deserves to be called music. And I think that is exactly what the older generation said about our music.

      I’ve always liked folk music, but as I get older I feel more comfortable in a room with a folk musician than I would in a mosh pit.

      Like

  5. vpfarming says:

    Lovely music. My hunch is that it was even better live.

    Like

Leave a Reply

