Plan B

Our unusually cold winter did in our Brussels sprouts before they’d all been harvested. We enjoyed lots of them, but about half didn’t make it.

IMG_1035

Our loss, however, has been our chickens’ gain.

IMG_1051

IMG_0885

12 comments on “Plan B

  1. Kitchen-Counter-Culture says:

    I would like “to Like” this post– even as I do feel worried how we plan our food supply around climate unpredictability– is there a like button somewhere I am missing?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It looks like you found it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yeah it’s been a weird weather year. But my mother tells me that this year only seems cold because it’s been so warm over the last several years. She says this year would be normal over her lifetime.

      Hoping things go back to the new normal this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • I’ve had the same problem with the “like” button. You get it in the email notifications and you can also “like” from the home page, but once you click on a post, the like button doesn’t appear.

      Like

      • Bill says:

        I was unaware of that. Thanks for pointing it out. I can’t figure out what to do about it though. One blog I read is the opposite–there is no like button unless you click on the post.

        Anyone know how to fix this?

        Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, between chickens and hogs, there’s not much that would go to waste on a homestead. I don’t mind Brussels sprouts but they are like squash. I like them about twice a year and then I’m good until the next year. It’s not something I’d eat on a regular basis. I’ve never really tried growing them. I have tried broccoli without too much success. Last year the broccoli become giant plants but only had teeny weeny little heads. I don’t plan on planting any this year. I may try it again in a couple years but for now I’ll get my broccoli from the store.

    Have a great Brussels sprouts day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We try not to waste anything here. The chickens love the brussels sprouts plants so they’re not wasted.

      They take a long time to mature so they need a somewhat mild winter to produce best, here at least. But they are amazingly delicious. Nothing like the store-bought kind. We eat the greens too. They are very very good.

      We’ve had a lot of success with broccoli until this year. Those pitiful dead brown plants in the rows closest to the fence are broccoli plants. Last year we harvested broccoli all winter. Now it’s time to plant our spring broccoli as soon as the ground permits.

      Like

    • You might try growing rapini or broccolini – much easier and faster to grow than broccoli and I think they are more flavorful.

      Like

  3. Just returned from almost one full month in Kenya (East Africa).

    Like

  4. Nice post, but I admit I’m most enamored of that fantastic chicken in the last shotโ€”Buff Orpington?โ€”with the great pantaloons! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

